Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th January 2011, 18:18
scottrill2 scottrill2 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default SSL Sites not working

Brief description of events.

Yesterday all 6 sites working like a champ. Today only http sites are working. If I go to https://myssldomain.com I receive "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" or in firefox "The connection was interrupted".

If I try going to the regular hhtp for my ssl sites like http://myssldomain.com I get a basic web page that says "It works!". I understand this to be a generic page like placeholder by apache or something.

I was hoping I could find an error or something so I would have a place to start searching but unfortunately not.

In /var/www/web1,web2,web4 etc/log/error.log there are zero errors listed for the site.

In /var/log/apache2/error.log the following notices are given for today.

[Sat Jan 29 09:15:51 2011] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
[Sat Jan 29 09:15:52 2011] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/lib/apache2/suexec)
[Sat Jan 29 09:15:52 2011] [notice] mod_python: Creating 8 session mutexes based on 150 max processes and 0 max threads.
[Sat Jan 29 09:15:52 2011] [notice] mod_python: using mutex_directory /tmp
[Sat Jan 29 09:15:52 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.9 (Debian) mod_python/3.3.1 Python/2.5.2 mod_ruby/1.2.6 Ruby/1.8.7(2008-08-11) mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8g configured -- resuming normal operations
[Sat Jan 29 09:22:20 2011] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:15 2011] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/lib/apache2/suexec)
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:15 2011] [notice] mod_python: Creating 8 session mutexes based on 150 max processes and 0 max threads.
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:15 2011] [notice] mod_python: using mutex_directory /tmp
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:16 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.9 (Debian) mod_python/3.3.1 Python/2.5.2 mod_ruby/1.2.6 Ruby/1.8.7(2008-08-11) mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8g configured -- resuming normal operations
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:21 2011] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:23 2011] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/lib/apache2/suexec)
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:23 2011] [notice] mod_python: Creating 8 session mutexes based on 150 max processes and 0 max threads.
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:23 2011] [notice] mod_python: using mutex_directory /tmp
[Sat Jan 29 09:23:23 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.9 (Debian) mod_python/3.3.1 Python/2.5.2 mod_ruby/1.2.6 Ruby/1.8.7(2008-08-11) mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8g configured -- resuming normal operations


Also I googled a bit for ssl sites not working and saw several results talking about "checking my SSL logs" But I will be damned if I can find them. I have checked the log folders of the individual websites, the SSL folders of the individual websites and var/log folder. Are the ssl logs hidden for security or something?

How should I proceed in troubleshooting this?

As always thanks for the help folks,

Scott
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th January 2011, 16:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Usually the SSL error log is in /var/log/apache2/.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th January 2011, 17:11
scottrill2 scottrill2 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Seems fixed.

Alright lol,

I checked my messages and comcast left me a message at midnight on the 28th saying there was a problem with my static IP's and they were switching me to dynamic IPs while they troubleshoot. There was a second message from them early in the morning on the 29th saying the issue had been resolved and they returned my gateway back to the static IP setup.

I hadn't checked my messages so I was completely unaware this had occured. Just for giggles I reset my gateway, firewall and router and now everything seems fine, all SSL login pages pull up fine etc.

Since the sites that use SSL have their own static IP, is it possible comcast playing with my gateway could have caused this? Would that explain why there were no error messages at all in the logs?


Thanks as always folks,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2011, 13:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrill2 View Post
Since the sites that use SSL have their own static IP, is it possible comcast playing with my gateway could have caused this? Would that explain why there were no error messages at all in the logs?
Yes, because you probably had other IP addresses than the ones you use in the Apache configuration. In this case, Apache will show you the first available vhost (which usually is the default vhost which contains the placeholder page).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
scottrill2 (31st January 2011)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Sites Stopped Working FeraTechInc General 2 14th January 2011 21:48
https not working after enabling ssl jdg General 3 14th March 2010 21:49
Creating SSL crashed apache punto Installation/Configuration 8 22nd June 2009 08:00
php on sites not working - fresh install matej Installation/Configuration 2 29th June 2007 19:01
cant get ssl working. need some help please. wwparrish Installation/Configuration 6 6th February 2006 18:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.