Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 24th May 2011, 23:08
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

You have a really cute case here xD, I will se what I found around your problem...

In the mean while, you can set swap to 0 and see how it works (this will not disable swapping, it will set your server to wait the maximun time possible until begin swapping).

By the way... when your server start to crawl, what are you doing to "restore" it to a good state? are you rebooting it? or you just restart some services? which ones? please, If you don't understand what I asking, please advise and I will use a translator to re-question you xD. I beg your pardon for my poor english.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #52  
Old 24th May 2011, 23:41
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I understand you just fine, no worries. to restore it, if it is not too late, I do

/etc/init.d/apache2 restart
killall -9 php-cgi
/etc/init.d/apache2 restart
/etc/init.d/mysql restart

but sometimes it is simply too late, can't even use console to access the server when its using 4GB of ram and swapping another 4Gb then I need to reboot via my hosting back pannel - but you can see when it has been rebooted in the stats I linked further up...
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 26th May 2011, 15:22
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

I beg your pardon... I make a mistake in the line I wrote for swap... it is not a "/", it is "." !!!

The correct value for /etc/sysctl.conf must be:

vm.swappiness=10

Sorry :P
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 26th May 2011, 15:25
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

thanks but that doesn't change anything since I haven't restarted my system yet... so that was not a problem :-)
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 26th May 2011, 16:30
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

xD

If you restart your system nothing will happen if that value is wrong xD the problem is that right now you still have Debian set to do swapping like crazy! xD

xD
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 26th May 2011, 16:32
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

no I don't. you suggested
Quote:
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
earlier on and I did a
Quote:
echo 10 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 6th June 2011, 22:00
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

its happening again. started freezing 3 times already today. all I could do was kill apache wait a few minutes and start again.

the problems "seem" to only happen when a friend I am hosting on this server sends his daily newsletter to about 8500 recipients. and yes, its legit, no spam :-(

I am using mailpress.org (a wordpress plugin) to run it for him, sending 50 mails/minute that makes about 3h to finish the whole thing. should all work just fine. still I end up with tons of apache2 and php-cgi processes and everything freezes in time :-(

The point is its a friend, I can't kick him off the server and I do not know what I am doing wrong :-(


look at this, this is not normal:


top - 20:56:48 up 24 days, 18:49, 1 user, load average: 70.03, 48.94, 40.49
Tasks: 378 total, 3 running, 375 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 2.3%us, 4.1%sy, 0.1%ni, 0.0%id, 93.1%wa, 0.1%hi, 0.3%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 4028824k total, 4003044k used, 25780k free, 668k buffers
Swap: 8191984k total, 1887344k used, 6304640k free, 1661904k cached
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 6th June 2011, 22:09
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Oh... normally a newsletter MUST be in a SEPARATED server and not in a shared server because that... I will offer a virtual server for who want to send newsletters...

I don't know another solution... 8500 mail eats your server...
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 6th June 2011, 22:13
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

would you elaborate a bit on why you suggest running it on a separate server please?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 6th June 2011, 23:06
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
 
Default

I did'nt a research about this... but every hosting here in Argentina offers a vps if you want to send newletters because of performance... they don't allow newsletter on a shared server...

It is an eternal discussion with clients, because the say that their emails are NOT spam, but it is not the problem, the problem is that they are sending massive email... so... the solution is to use a vps and not a shared server...

I did'nt test it myself, but the main reason for this is that newsletter eats all server resources... it is terrible for all the users allocated in the shared server...

I wish to give you more information, but I don't have... maybe in a future I could say how much problematic this is... but I will not allow massive mail from my shared server... I will offer a vps, because in the worse case, the vps will become unusable, and not the entire server, nor the others vps.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache2, server, tuning

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.1.4 causes Apache to have too many open files gkovacs Installation/Configuration 29 27th February 2013 09:59
Whole server went down wxman General 25 28th September 2012 19:32
about: tuning apache2 Ovidiu HOWTO-Related Questions 26 2nd February 2011 13:28
ISPConfig 3 Security mnzava Installation/Configuration 8 8th March 2010 12:00
Swap usage issue MrM General 23 7th October 2009 11:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.