Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th May 2011, 17:37
briand0713 briand0713 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Perfect Server - OpenSUSE 11.2 x86_64 - Config Network Settings

heres the link to the main page: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...64-ispconfig-3
and the link to the page I'm having difficulties with: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p3

Ok so my problem has been, I've never been able to actually complete this step. When switching to Static IP, I end up losing network access.

My router is a D-Link DIR-655 currently set to DHCP and I believe that my IP is static because it hasn't changed for atleast two weeks even with power outages and such. Can I still perform this step in the server setup with DHCP enabled on the router or would I have to staticly assign the IPs to all my devices on the network? (something I've never done before but have researched)

Ok in Yast it asks me to setup an IP address. In the demo it shows 192.168.0.100 My question is: For that field am I setting the IP assigned for the router or my actual IP assigned from the ISP?

For Subnet Mask I always set 255.255.255.0 but after I saved settings and go back, the fielded is replaced with /24 I also saw the same thing while reading through the ISPConfig3 manual. Is this anything I should be worried about?

For hostname let's say I registered briand0713.com, would I put server1.briand0713.com in this field or could I just put anything I want in this field?

Lastly I am unsure as to what I should set for the nameservers. My problem is is that I don't exactly know where to obtain these IPs. Do I find them through my router or do I get them from my nameserver provider which is www.everydns.com

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th May 2011, 18:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by briand0713 View Post
Ok in Yast it asks me to setup an IP address. In the demo it shows 192.168.0.100 My question is: For that field am I setting the IP assigned for the router or my actual IP assigned from the ISP?
You must use a free IP address from your local network. So let's assume your router has the local IP address 192.168.23.1, then you should pick a free IP from the 192.168.23.x subnet (e.g. 192.168.23.100).

Quote:
Originally Posted by briand0713 View Post
For Subnet Mask I always set 255.255.255.0 but after I saved settings and go back, the fielded is replaced with /24 I also saw the same thing while reading through the ISPConfig3 manual. Is this anything I should be worried about?
255.255.255.0 and /24 is the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by briand0713 View Post
For hostname let's say I registered briand0713.com, would I put server1.briand0713.com in this field or could I just put anything I want in this field?
server1.briand0713.com is good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by briand0713 View Post
Lastly I am unsure as to what I should set for the nameservers. My problem is is that I don't exactly know where to obtain these IPs. Do I find them through my router or do I get them from my nameserver provider which is www.everydns.com
You can use the nameservers from the tutorial - these are working nameservers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th May 2011, 05:21
briand0713 briand0713 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks Falko
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th May 2011, 13:46
aurel81 aurel81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, thx for the great tutorial... i have Problems in Step 12.
I am using german language.

root@server:~# apt-get install postfix postfix-mysql postfix-doc mysql-client mysql-server courier-authdaemon courier-authlib-mysql courier-pop courier-pop-ssl courier-imap courier-imap-ssl libsasl2-2 libsasl2-modules libsasl2-modules-sql sasl2-bin libpam-mysql openssl getmail4 rkhunter binutils maildrop

Paketlisten werden gelesen... Fertig
Abhängigkeitsbaum wird aufgebaut
Statusinformationen werden eingelesen... Fertig

E: Paket courier-authdaemon kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket courier-authlib-mysql kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket courier-pop kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket courier-pop-ssl kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket courier-imap kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket courier-imap-ssl kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket libpam-mysql kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket getmail4 kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket rkhunter kann nicht gefunden werden
E: Paket maildrop kann nicht gefunden werden

All those packages cannot be found ... or unable to locate, dont know which expression is used in the english one.

but i used the Desktop version for the basic install, hopefully this isnt the or a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th May 2011, 19:22
aurel81 aurel81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

aah ok finally i solved the problem.

i started installing some apps manually until i found the solution in the sources.list. i misunderstood the howto and disabled all universe and multiverse XD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 mail doesn't work Marr General 6 1st September 2010 09:32
The Perfect Server - OpenSUSE 11.2 - ISPConfig3 doesn't create anything GoremanX HOWTO-Related Questions 2 9th April 2010 16:05
Unable to connect to Mysql mbascombe Installation/Configuration 12 10th January 2010 22:46
What can be wrong martin_rudowicz Installation/Configuration 9 11th May 2008 19:42
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.