Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th January 2006, 13:43
AdykOSu AdykOSu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Installing Debian desktop GNOME!

when i installed Debian 3.1 Stable, i forgot to install GNOME! at the moment i don't know how to do it! please help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th January 2006, 15:37
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

In debian, you can install every package with the apt-get command. The command finds all dependencies automatically.

To find a special package, in you case the gnome packages, type this on the commandline:

apt-cache search gnome

Then install all packages you want to install with:

apt-get install [PACKAGENAME]

Where you replace [PACKAGENAME] with the name of the package, if you want to install more then one package, you can add them with spaces.

Example:

apt-get install package1 package 2 pachkage3

All installation commands must be issued as root user, so either login as root or switch with the command "su" to root.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2006, 22:58
AdykOSu AdykOSu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
package gnome is not available, but is reffered to by another package. This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or is only available from another source
E:Package gnome has no installation candidate
it says that when i use the command
Code:
apt-get install gnome
i did insert the 1st cd into the cdrom drive!

do i have to mount the cdrom drive? how do i do that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th January 2006, 23:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Did you run
Code:
apt-cache search gnome
before, as Till suggested? This will show all Gnome-related packages, and from that list you can pick the packages you want.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th January 2006, 21:18
daniel_rodriguez daniel_rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Had the same problem, if you didn't fix it yet here is what I did:

First, verify /etc/apt/sources.list. Could use apt-spy / netselect-apt to know fastest apt mirror

apt-get install install x-window-system

Once X installed proceed with gnome, following packages are minimum but gives you gnome gui based interface... so on it's easier to add other packages from synaptic.

apt-get install gnome-core gdm synaptic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th January 2006, 22:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_rodriguez
apt-get install install x-window-system
I guess you mean
Code:
apt-get install x-window-system
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th January 2006, 23:06
daniel_rodriguez daniel_rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, sorry for the typo error
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th December 2006, 18:26
pcotter pcotter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Osnabruck-Germany
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Will Gnome break Ispconfig? Can i install samba server?

Hello!

Will in any way Gnome installation break Ispconfig? I followed The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) by Falko.

Can i also install Samba Server for Windows access, without breaking ispconfig?

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th December 2006, 14:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcotter
Hello!

Will in any way Gnome installation break Ispconfig? I followed The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) by Falko.

Can i also install Samba Server for Windows access, without breaking ispconfig?

Thanx
Yes, no problem.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th August 2007, 19:36
tux-world tux-world is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

and for updating for new version....??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Debian Woody (3.0)... sending mail from my XP box? ExCIA HOWTO-Related Questions 17 27th June 2007 18:31
error while installing..... securitywonks Installation/Configuration 1 23rd December 2005 12:07
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42
Perfect setup (debian sarge) Pelle Installation/Configuration 4 11th October 2005 17:17
Problems installing ISPConfig Debian Sarge hschel Server Operation 4 22nd August 2005 19:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.