Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th December 2010, 19:31
makensy13 makensy13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Remove Latest News the banner left.

Hello,

Is it possible to delete Lastets News that is left of the homepage.

Thank you

Sincerely,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th December 2010, 21:19
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 151 Times in 131 Posts
Default

Login as admin in ISPconfig3.
Under System select Interface Config and go the tab Misc.
Remove the "Dashboard atom feed URL"
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 25th December 2010 at 21:22.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to edge For This Useful Post:
makensy13 (25th December 2010)
  #3  
Old 25th December 2010, 23:05
makensy13 makensy13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 54
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Good evening,

Thank you again it works! Super

Sincerely,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th December 2012, 17:04
zapyahoo zapyahoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Another solution

New to ISpconfig 3.
Going over all menus and links and this one was messing my brain

1. Could not add my joomla atom or rss feed, just showed blank.
Checked one solution to edit simplepie file, but the &= was already added to the file.
2. Deleted the feed link as suggested here, but left space was still there. Does not remove the left sidebar.
3. Was going to hack my joomla and then 4 idea

4. SOLUTION: Use feedburner to retreive feed. Use feedburner feed in ISPconfig 3. Works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th December 2012, 13:54
ressel ressel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 128
Thanks: 18
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zapyahoo View Post
New to ISpconfig 3.
Going over all menus and links and this one was messing my brain

1. Could not add my joomla atom or rss feed, just showed blank.
Checked one solution to edit simplepie file, but the &= was already added to the file.
2. Deleted the feed link as suggested here, but left space was still there. Does not remove the left sidebar.
3. Was going to hack my joomla and then 4 idea

4. SOLUTION: Use feedburner to retreive feed. Use feedburner feed in ISPconfig 3. Works fine.
This RSS link works fine for me, it is a Joomla 2.5 site.
http://status.isplogin.dk/?format=feed&type=rss
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th December 2012, 15:23
zapyahoo zapyahoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 65
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ressel View Post
This RSS link works fine for me, it is a Joomla 2.5 site.
http://status.isplogin.dk/?format=feed&type=rss
There's a couple of differences from my rss and yours although the link is constructed the same way. So, I guess the issue is not the link.
Might be:
1. Number of feeds, have 20 feeds per page.
2. My feeds (some) have teaser or intro images before the "readmore"

Just out of curiosity. I tested feedbutner normal rss feed link, looks like this:
http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourfeedname
and feedburner xml version, looks like this:
http://feeds.feedburner.com/"yourfeedname"?format=xml
Both work

Then comparing the rss xml feedburner to my joomla rss xml, the html encoding seems different for the same feed.
example feedburner:
Code:
<description>&lt;div class="feed-description"&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong style="color: #0f409d; font-family: georgia, palatino;"&gt;&lt;
example my joomla:
Code:
<description><![CDATA[<div class="feed-description"><p><strong style="color: #0f409d; font-family: georgia, palatino;">
So, I might be wrong, someone correct me please. But seems that the simplepie file is missing characters?!

ressel we are almost neighbours

Last edited by zapyahoo; 25th December 2012 at 16:22.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th February 2013, 15:41
Chris Graham Chris Graham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

For the info of other readers...

You need to logout then login for it to take effect. The feed is cached in the session.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[OpenFiler / HA] Heartbeat can not activate LVM volume: open file descriptors khamikaze HOWTO-Related Questions 8 2nd February 2010 15:25
Problems with Yum following The Perfect Server - CentOS 5.3 x86_64 Guide GOPalmer HOWTO-Related Questions 7 1st July 2009 14:20
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 16:26
ISPConfig Installation error linuxuser1 Installation/Configuration 4 26th February 2008 06:38
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! qvindesland Installation/Configuration 22 21st May 2007 16:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.