Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th September 2005, 04:24
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Proftpd Access outside of network

I have done 2 fresh reinstalls of SUSE 9.3 and ISPCONFIG per online instructions. Everything is working but the ftp again.

Within the local network ftping to the ISPConfig server via its physical IP address is no problem but when you try to ftp via outside the network either on my machines or remote computers you get the following error after your logged into the ftp server (and don't see a file list)
----------------
SmartFTP v1.5.988.47
Resolving host name "cryptchat.com"
Connecting to 24.117.228.198 Port: 21
Connected to cryptchat.com.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (ProFTPD Default Installation) [192.168.1.205]
USER web1_shane
331 Password required for web1_shane.
PASS (hidden)
230 User web1_shane logged in.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE I
200 Type set to I
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,205,4,58).
Opening data connection to 192.168.1.205 Port: 1082
LIST -aL
0 bytes transferred. (N/A/s) (0 ms)
Timeout (20s).
Active Help: http://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/index.php/45
Client closed the connection.
Automatic failover of data connection mode from "Passive Mode (PASV)" to "Active Mode (PORT)".
----------------------

Now i have bypassed my Linksys router - NO Change
My router when pointed to my windows ftp server has no problems remotely

--now under ispconfig "Services" it reads the ftp server is OFFLINE--

Being i have reinstalled the whole linux server 3 times now and have read just about every thread on here about proftp i an still stuck.

Can anyone help? seems like an internal linux issue.

Would swithing ftp server programs help? if so how do you remove proftpd and install the other?

What about VS-ftp?


Thanks.

Last edited by palkat; 8th September 2005 at 06:10.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th September 2005, 10:51
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,453
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,222 Times in 4,092 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by palkat
I have done 2 fresh reinstalls of SUSE 9.3 and ISPCONFIG per online instructions. Everything is working but the ftp again.

Within the local network ftping to the ISPConfig server via its physical IP address is no problem but when you try to ftp via outside the network either on my machines or remote computers you get the following error after your logged into the ftp server (and don't see a file list)
----------------
SmartFTP v1.5.988.47
Resolving host name "cryptchat.com"
Connecting to 24.117.228.198 Port: 21
Connected to cryptchat.com.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (ProFTPD Default Installation) [192.168.1.205]
USER web1_shane
331 Password required for web1_shane.
PASS (hidden)
230 User web1_shane logged in.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE I
200 Type set to I
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,205,4,58).
Opening data connection to 192.168.1.205 Port: 1082
LIST -aL
0 bytes transferred. (N/A/s) (0 ms)
Timeout (20s).
Active Help: http://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/index.php/45
Client closed the connection.
Automatic failover of data connection mode from "Passive Mode (PASV)" to "Active Mode (PORT)".
----------------------

Now i have bypassed my Linksys router - NO Change
My router when pointed to my windows ftp server has no problems remotely

--now under ispconfig "Services" it reads the ftp server is OFFLINE--

Being i have reinstalled the whole linux server 3 times now and have read just about every thread on here about proftp i an still stuck.

Can anyone help? seems like an internal linux issue.

Would swithing ftp server programs help? if so how do you remove proftpd and install the other?

What about VS-ftp?


Thanks.

I think switching to vsftpd wont help you. When ISPConfig shows your FTP-Server offline, it cant connect to it from localhost. Can you try to connect the FTP-Server from the shell on your server:

Code:
telnet localhost 21
To close the FTP connection type quit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th September 2005, 01:40
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I think switching to vsftpd wont help you. When ISPConfig shows your FTP-Server offline, it cant connect to it from localhost. Can you try to connect the FTP-Server from the shell on your server:

Code:
telnet localhost 21
To close the FTP connection type quit.
Okay so today here is what I did in regaurd to above.

Fresh install of Suse 9.3 pro per book
I installed all the modules per instructions and stopped installation right after completing the ProFTPD.
Then did the TELNET LOCALHOST 21 and got:
-----------
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Excape character is '`]'
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (proFTPD Defaul Installation) [127.0.0.1]
-----------
then i did a quit and it said:
-----------
221 Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host.
-----------

That seemed okay, right?
Then i tried to do an ANONYMOUS ftp with my software on another machine connection to the proftpd server via its machine physical ip and here is what i got:

------------
SmartFTP v1.5.988.47
Resolving host name "192.168.1.205"
Connecting to 192.168.1.205 Port: 21
Connected to 192.168.1.205.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (ProFTPD Default Installation) [192.168.1.205]
USER anonymous
331 Anonymous login ok, send your complete email address as your password.
PASS (hidden)
230 Anonymous access granted, restrictions apply.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE I
200 Type set to I
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,205,4,15).
Opening data connection to 192.168.1.205 Port: 1039
LIST -aL
150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
117 bytes transferred. (7.61 KB/s) (15 ms)
226 Transfer complete.
--------------

so that worked too, BUT then i tried to connect with again using my outside IP that my domains resolve to and back to it hanging on the LIST here is the log of that:

--------------

SmartFTP v1.5.988.47
Resolving host name "cryptchat.com"
Connecting to 24.117.228.198 Port: 21
Connected to cryptchat.com.
220 ProFTPD 1.2.10 Server (ProFTPD Default Installation) [192.168.1.205]
USER anonymous
331 Anonymous login ok, send your complete email address as your password.
PASS (hidden)
230 Anonymous access granted, restrictions apply.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE I
200 Type set to I
PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,205,4,22).
Opening data connection to 192.168.1.205 Port: 1046
LIST -aL
0 bytes transferred. (N/A/s) (0 ms)
Timeout (20s).
Active Help: http://www.smartftp.com/support/kb/index.php/45
Client closed the connection.
Automatic failover of data connection mode from "Passive Mode (PASV)" to "Active Mode (PORT)".
-------------------

So what i have learned....with NO ISPConfig installed yet, just the raw PROFTPD the problem is with the ProFTPD.

So what would you all suggest now...to get the FTP to work outside of my network? I can't believe I am having such an issue.

I appriciate all the help so far and don't mean to be such a pest on this but really need the ftp to funcion outside of my network. If anyone needs to access the machine to help I am open to that as well.

Last edited by palkat; 9th September 2005 at 01:42.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th September 2005, 05:06
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Got It!!!

After 1.5 weeks and much trial and error we got it working.

The problem was that the /etc/init.d/proftpd needed the following added to it:

MasqueradeAddress ftp.mydomain.com # using a DNS name
MasqueradeAddress 123.45.67.89 # using an IP address

PassivePorts 60000 65535

Then we had to setup another forward in the router, to forward all TCP request for port range 60000~65535 to the proftp server.

Now out side traffic can get a LIST. turns out using the PROFTPD.CONF per instructions it did not use the MasqueradeAdrdress and was sending the proftpd servers physical internal IP to the clients ftp program so out side of our network that IP is useless.

Thanks again for EVEYONE's help, I so glad to have found the simple solution.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th October 2005, 18:50
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

IM back...ugh!

Okay well all the above did work...but now all of a sudden (not a single thing has changed on the ispconfig server) outside traffic can log in but does NOT get a list it just times out.

out side traffic can telnet connect fine.

inside network trafic can pull a list in ftp clients just fine too..

any input?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
proftpd does not start after ip-adress updates fuban Installation/Configuration 1 5th September 2005 11:23
ProFTPD potential security hole domino Server Operation 3 19th August 2005 03:25
ProFTPD Logins and Authentication pete General 9 14th August 2005 23:24
Access Denied on Port: 81 nandhu Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 14:05
Restrict access to my SystemImager server cornelius Installation/Configuration 1 7th June 2005 11:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.