
21st June 2006, 06:12
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
RBL - spam blacklists howto
can someone point me in the direction on how i setup my postfix system with maildir too support the RBL anti-spam blacklist system
thanks,
|

21st June 2006, 09:26
|
|
Local Meanie
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 4
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
|
|
That is quite simple. You need them to add to the "smtpd_recipient_restrictions" in your main.cf file.
All of mien looks like that:
Code:
smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
reject_invalid_hostname,
permit_sasl_authenticated,
reject_non_fqdn_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
permit_mynetworks,
# permit_sasl_authenticated,
reject_unauth_destination,
check_recipient_access hash:/etc/postfix/recipient_checks,
check_recipient_access pcre:/etc/postfix/recipient_checks.pcre,
check_helo_access hash:/etc/postfix/helo_checks,
check_sender_access hash:/etc/postfix/sender_checks,
check_client_access hash:/etc/postfix/client_checks,
check_client_access pcre:/etc/postfix/client_checks.pcre,
reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,
reject_rbl_client opm.blitzed.org,
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rhsbl_client blackhole.securitysage.com,
reject_rhsbl_sender blackhole.securitysage.com,
reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,
reject_rbl_client blackholes.easynet.nl,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client proxies.blackholes.wirehub.net,
reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net,
reject_rbl_client dnsbl.njabl.org,
permit
As you can see in the first part I do some other checks and the RBLs start with that here:
Quote:
reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,
reject_rbl_client opm.blitzed.org,
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rhsbl_client blackhole.securitysage.com,
reject_rhsbl_sender blackhole.securitysage.com,
reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,
reject_rbl_client blackholes.easynet.nl,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client proxies.blackholes.wirehub.net,
reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net,
reject_rbl_client dnsbl.njabl.org,
|
Just add those rbls that you want to use
After you have altered the main.cf restart postfix ^^
Last edited by sjau; 22nd June 2006 at 18:20.
|

22nd June 2006, 00:25
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
thanks!
ive added the full string too main.cf and restarted postfix with no issues
ive installed rblcheck and rbldnsd using apt-get install - is this all i need too do for RBL blacklists too be added to my server?
thanks!!!
|

22nd June 2006, 15:41
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,685
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,599 Times in 2,448 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by alexnz
ive installed rblcheck and rbldnsd using apt-get install - is this all i need too do for RBL blacklists too be added to my server?
|
You don't need this. Just configure Postfix as outlined above.
|

23rd June 2006, 01:20
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
thanks for that falko!
|

17th August 2006, 20:29
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Hi Falko,
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by falko
You don't need this. Just configure Postfix as outlined above. 
|
I have a SuSE 10.1 64bit system.
In this case is this also the only thing necessary to put RBL's to work.
My problem is that I have setup this in main.cf but in my postfix directory I still keep getting an enormous amount of trash mail going to :
/var/spool/postfix/ ...
either the emails are
/deferred
/defer
/bounced (a bit less) or
/active
and
/incomming
At this point I have no user in the system! So I should get 0 emails. This is clearly spam  .
Regards,
Pedro
Last edited by keybd_user; 17th August 2006 at 20:41.
|

17th August 2006, 21:09
|
|
Local Meanie
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 4
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
|
|
if you want to use some more checks you could also add this:
Code:
reject_invalid_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
Those are just standards checks on whether the email "appears" to be from a legit site.
In order to see whether you rbls work you can look at your mail.log and see if any of the lists rbls will appear in there.
|

17th August 2006, 21:49
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Hi,
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by sjau
if you want to use some more checks you could also add this:
Code:
reject_invalid_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
Those are just standards checks on whether the email "appears" to be from a legit site.
In order to see whether you rbls work you can look at your mail.log and see if any of the lists rbls will appear in there.
|
Thanks,
I did already looked at the mail logs.
and making :
prompt:/ less mail.log | grep blackhole.securitysage.com ... and the others rbnl's
does not return nothing ?!!?
Where can I see if the black lists servers are working?
regards,
Pedro
|

17th August 2006, 22:13
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Hi,
Sorry once again.
The RBL's are working!
Just found several:
bl.spamcop.net blocks for certain ip's!
Funny but on 170MB of log  no other RBL is invoked
Is it necessary any type of registration for the others ?
They seem free in a first glimpse. ...
Well it escaped me.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by sjau
if you want to use some more checks you could also add this:
Code:
reject_invalid_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
Those are just standards checks on whether the email "appears" to be from a legit site.
In order to see whether you rbls work you can look at your mail.log and see if any of the lists rbls will appear in there.
|
Your line are allready in your first post. The forced identification of hostname, sender and recipient, (fqdn).
Even like this the problem maintains.
In the mail logs I see a lot of emails sent!
That means postfix is still making relay for some of those emails!
In my server this at this current rate it will be 1,5GB in the end of the month!
Regards,
Pedro
|

17th August 2006, 22:15
|
|
Local Meanie
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 4
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
|
|
Do you haven an open relay server?
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:30.
|
Recent comments
1 day 16 hours ago
1 day 18 hours ago
2 days 6 hours ago
2 days 9 hours ago
2 days 13 hours ago
2 days 19 hours ago
3 days 5 hours ago
3 days 7 hours ago
3 days 15 hours ago
3 days 16 hours ago