Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd December 2010, 19:08
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default nameservers setup in hosting server control panel and registrar

i have an email from my registrar as below:

You must use the same set of nameservers for your domain name. For example, you can use NS1.DOMAINCONTROL.COM and NS2.DOMAINCONTROL.COM, or you could use ISPCONFIG.yourdomain.INFO and create another nameserver of ISPCONFIG2.yourdomain.INFO. Although the nameservers may point to different IP addresses (or servers), you cannot use our nameservers in conjunction with third party nameservers. I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

in this case, in the same ispconfig 3 (or 2) hosting server and control panel, is it ok to create both ISPCONFIG.yourdomain.INFO and ISPCONFIG2.yourdomain.INFO as nameservers and set them up in my registrar system, even though they both point to the same IP/server (even though in concept, they should point to different IP/server )?
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th December 2010, 12:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qiubosu View Post
in this case, in the same ispconfig 3 (or 2) hosting server and control panel, is it ok to create both ISPCONFIG.yourdomain.INFO and ISPCONFIG2.yourdomain.INFO as nameservers and set them up in my registrar system, even though they both point to the same IP/server (even though in concept, they should point to different IP/server )?
You can try that - some registrars accept this, and some not. That depends on the registrar.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Williamsl (13th July 2014)
  #3  
Old 5th December 2010, 04:13
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in ispconfig 3 control panel, how to create a master database user account for all the databases for all the mutisites?
  #4  
Old 5th December 2010, 14:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Databases are not connected to the dns records in ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
  #5  
Old 5th December 2010, 18:34
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello till, i mean to create only one set of database username and password across all the databases for all the websites, for the users' convenience. i don't understand the relationship between your answer and my previous post.
  #6  
Old 5th December 2010, 18:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
i don't understand the relationship between your answer and my previous post.
The Topic of this thread is "nameservers setup in hosting server control panel and registrar". So every answer in this thread is related to this topic. I explained you in my answer that databases are not connected to DNS in ispconfig, so creating dns records does not influence the creation of databases and vice versa.

If you have other questions that are not related to a thread topic, then please make a new thread.

Quote:
hello till, i mean to create only one set of database username and password across all the databases for all the websites, for the users' convenience.
If thats a intranet server without connection to the internet, then you can do something like that. On internet servers, thats far too insecure as it would mean that a single hacked website can bring all websites down.

In ISPConfig, every client database has its own user and password for that reason. If you want to create a user that can access more databases, then you can do that in phpmyadmin. But its highly recommended to not do that.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to setup dns servers registrar and records bksunday Server Operation 1 14th April 2010 16:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.