Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd November 2010, 08:46
aligator007 aligator007 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Stuck in increasing the size of root partition by taking space from XEN LVM

Hi, I am stuck in pretty weird situation. I hope somebody here will help me.

I have one centOS server with XEN installed on it. XEN has 3-4 virtual machines running on it. As required by XEN, this server
has LVM implemented. The structure of Disk System is as following ( Kindly click on this image link) :

http://yfrog.com/72sh01nov191726j

This server has two disks of 750 GB each, and RAID implemented. MD2 partition is / (root) filesystem. It has only 10 GB of space. Now i have to increase the space of / filesystem. It is running short on space. Some more information about server is following:

1. It has 1 volume group named xen in its LVM and its size is 682 GB.
2. Their is a physical volume named md3 in volume group xen and its size is 682 GB.
3. This physical volume has 5 logical volumes which are used for XEN virtual machines.

This volume group has 400 GB of free disk space. So i want to extract some space (200 GB)from it and use this space for / (root) partition.root partition ( '/' ) is the boot partition and is holding all the system files of CentOS.
Output of pvdisplay is : img29.imageshack.us/i/sh02nov192131.jpg
output (shortened, its big list)lvdisplay is: img831.imageshack.us/i/sh03nov192132.jpg
output of mount is : img269.imageshack.us/i/sh04nov192132.jpg

I have webmin installed n this server along with hyperVM. In webmin i can see LVM and partitions. There is one option in which we can add any logical volume to any Raid device partition. Doyou think that will an good idea and risk free. Kindly look at the attachd screenshot yfrog.com/jysh05nov201208j

This is a live server and i can not take risk of testing some test methods on it. I have searched for 4-5 hours for this issue but i was not able to get the proper and authentic answer. So i thought i should post my question here so that i can get a authentic answer.

This is very urgent, my client is shouting on me. .

one more thing i have no physical access this server as it is located in another country.

Kindly help me to solve this.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd November 2010, 14:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

If you want to increase the size of the / partition, you will have to boot into some kind of rescue system or live CD. This cannot be done while the / partition is mounted.

You could do it with GParted, I guess. These links might help as well:
http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_lvm
http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_resi...xt3_partitions
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-res...-software-raid
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-res...hrink-and-grow
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2010, 06:58
aligator007 aligator007 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Thanks for you reply. The only problem u have is that i do not have any physical access to my server. I understand that this thing may require physical access.
I have another thing in my mind. As i have written in the question, I have access to webmin and in webmin there is an option to add any logical volume to RAID partition. I can create logical volume from that interface. and after creating there is an option to add it to RAID partition. I have never tried this before. so i am not sure whether this is a good idea or not. Kindly suggest me if this is possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2010, 13:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

I don't think this will work. Do you have a rescue system on the server that you can boot into?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
centos, lvm, xen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flash Player (version 10.0r22) did not load bobwdn HOWTO-Related Questions 10 11th September 2011 11:08
apache log issues abubin General 13 1st August 2010 17:47
automatic webmail link admins Installation/Configuration 16 22nd June 2009 16:42
Setting up a new server - Suse 11.1 londonman Server Operation 34 10th April 2009 13:16
Postfix email server problems Access denied 554 554 5.7.1 state 14 AceRimmer Server Operation 4 19th June 2008 14:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.