Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st November 2010, 02:20
customhost customhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ISPConfig 3 - Newbie questions

Hi all,

first of all I'd like to thank you very much for developing such a great piece of open source software!

I installed everything according to this tutorial which worked out seemlessly: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...nny-ispconfig3

Even though I did purchase the manual and ISPConfig 3.0.3 is up and running without any issues, there are still some open questions which even the manual cannot answer:
  1. Due to I'm migrating from a Confixx installation and used to have some email templates within Confixx which I could set up and which sent out the account details automatically to the customer, I wondered whether this possibility also exists in ISPConfig 3?
  2. I'm using the recommended myDNS service as a DNS server. Due to my emails are tagged as Junk at Gmail etc, I would like to know whether there is any possibility of automatically setting up a SPF DNS record when a domain is created?
  3. I have different quotas per customer - one of them is the so called "Web Quota". I got this one on the client account level and on the client domain level. I tried setting up a test account with just the "Web Quota" for the client account set to 10 MB and the "Web Quota" for the client's domain to "-1" (which equals to unlimited, according to the manual). What I thought should happen is that if no specific domain quota is set, the "global" client account quota limits the maximum space. Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to be the case as I can upload unlimited data with just the client quota set and the domain quota set to "-1". As soon as I set the domain quota, the domain quota limit works as expected (whereas the account quota limit is still ignored). Is this the normal behavior or can I configure this to work out the way I described it?

    The actual problem with the quota is that when I assign 5 GB of web space to a reseller account, he can actually upload more than 5 GB of data as long as he doesn't set any specific quota on the domain level, or am I wrong here?
  4. For the webmail and phpMyAdmin links, I can see that the corresponding mailbox / database ID is send to a script which then opens up the corresponding service in a new window. I just wondered whether I should actually be logged in automatically into Webmail and phpMyAdmin? Just asking because I still need to enter the login credentials to the mailbox / database manually ...
  5. This might be a webmail issue which is not really related to ISPConfig itself: I'm using Roundcube webmail without any problems. I just asked myself whether there is any possibility of tagging email messages as SPAM so that SpamAssassin can learn from them? At the moment, a lot of Junk gets through the mail filter so that there is really a need to train it ...
  6. Is there any official end user and/or reseller documentation (preferably in German) available for ISPConfig 3 which I could send to my customers?

I would be more than grateful if somebody could please take the time and answer (at least some of) my questions!

Cheers,
Eric

Last edited by customhost; 21st November 2010 at 11:53.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st November 2010, 12:00
customhost customhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Question #5 solved

Hi all,

as expected, question #5 regarding the webmail Junk training was not an issue of ISPConfig itself and is fixed now. The plugin for Roundcube webmail is called "MarkAsJunk2" and can be obtained here: http://www.tehinterweb.co.uk/roundcube/#pimarkasjunk2

Cheers,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2010, 13:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,779
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,610 Times in 4,421 Posts
Default

1) No.
2) No.
3) The quota in the client settings limits the quotas for the websites that can be created by the clients. I guess you created the website as admin which deactivates the quota checking for the site, otherwise you would not have been able to set a quota for the website which is larger then the client quota.
4) Thats not possible as it qould require to store passwords in claertext which would be very insecure.
6) Thats not available yet. We are working on a light version of the manual that can be licensed by providers to give it away to their customers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2010, 14:14
customhost customhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
1) No.
2) No.
3) The quota in the client settings limits the quotas for the websites that can be created by the clients. I guess you created the website as admin which deactivates the quota checking for the site, otherwise you would not have been able to set a quota for the website which is larger then the client quota.
4) Thats not possible as it qould require to store passwords in claertext which would be very insecure.
6) Thats not available yet. We are working on a light version of the manual that can be licensed by providers to give it away to their customers.
Hi Till,

thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions even on a sunday morning

Refering to your answers:

1) Is there really no way of automatically sending the account details to the created customer? Do I really need to send them out manually? I don't think that all the other people using ISPConfig 3 really do it this way, do they? Maybe there's any plugin for ISPConfig 3 capable of managing this automatism?

2) Would this be possible with BIND or is this no question of the utilized DNS server but a question of ISPConfig itself?

3) Thank you very much for this helpful answer! That indeed makes sense!

4) Ok. May I ask why the corresponding database / email account ID is send to a separate script then at all? Is there any magic behind this?

6) Thanks in advance! Looking forward to it!

Thank you very much in advance for answering my questions again.

Cheers,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd November 2010, 14:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by customhost View Post
2) Would this be possible with BIND or is this no question of the utilized DNS server but a question of ISPConfig itself?
It doesn't matter which DNS server (MyDNS or BIND) you use.
If you use the DNS Wizard to create a zone, you can change the DNS template and include an SPF record in it so that an SPF record is created automatically when you use the DNS Wizard.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd November 2010, 14:31
customhost customhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

thank you for your reply. Can I tell the DNS manager to automatically created a zone for every domain created?

Cheers,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd November 2010, 15:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

No, that's not possible.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd November 2010, 15:56
customhost customhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Thank you once again for your reply. Will this be possible in the future or is this no planned feature?

Cheers,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

To be honest, I'm not sure if it's planned.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st January 2011, 20:11
kostas1972 kostas1972 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi... i am new in the forum and in ispconfig3..

it is really a very good piece of software...

i face the same problem as the user(see qoute)...
and i am almost sure that is bug(?)
Quote:
I have different quotas per customer - one of them is the so called "Web Quota". I got this one on the client account level and on the client domain level. I tried setting up a test account with just the "Web Quota" for the client account set to 10 MB and the "Web Quota" for the client's domain to "-1" (which equals to unlimited, according to the manual). What I thought should happen is that if no specific domain quota is set, the "global" client account quota limits the maximum space. Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to be the case as I can upload unlimited data with just the client quota set and the domain quota set to "-1". As soon as I set the domain quota, the domain quota limit works as expected (whereas the account quota limit is still ignored). Is this the normal behavior or can I configure this to work out the way I described it?

The actual problem with the quota is that when I assign 5 GB of web space to a reseller account, he can actually upload more than 5 GB of data as long as he doesn't set any specific quota on the domain level, or am I wrong here?
lets explain a little more this issue:

A- i created a test-resseller and set all limits to reseller:
1 dns
1mailbox
1 ftp
1mb traffic
1mb disk qouta
1client
.. etc

B- logged in as the test-reseller and
created a test-cliend.. BUT I FORGOT to add LIMITS... all limits are the default (-1)
!!!!

C- logged in as the test-client
i created..
1 ftp..ok tried a 2nd -> got warning .. as expected reseller limit applies to his clients!
1 site..ok tried a 2nd -> got warning .. as expected!
1 email..ok tried a 2nd -> got warning .. as expected!
etc....

NOW THE BUG IS HERE:
the client can give to the site as much disk and traffic wants even unlimited... and save site's configuration.. no warning-no-error
he can add any amount of disk and traffic quota!
When tried to upload to to the test-client's site(as the test-client) i found no limit..
he can upload as many MB as he wants... no matter if the test-reseller has a limit of only 1MB..

these happens only for traffic and disk quotas...
all other limits of the test-reseller applies to the test-client...

please confirm this and give me a possible solution?
thanks!

edit: sorry forgot to mention that this is ispconfig 3.0.3.2
ubuntu10.10-perfect-server-setup ... clean install-no errors !

Last edited by kostas1972; 21st January 2011 at 20:15.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 13:04
PHP warnings after upgrade to ISP config 3.03 stevegjacobs Installation/Configuration 5 30th October 2010 15:31
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 23:47
ispconfig appliance - 2 questions Danielss89 General 1 19th June 2007 10:34
Some questions about dns and multiple ispconfig servers elhodred Installation/Configuration 1 9th November 2006 10:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.