#1  
Old 12th November 2010, 17:32
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default problems with subdomains

Hi!,

I am am using ubuntu 10.4 with ISPconfig3 and am having problems with subdomains.

I have a webserver & mailserver on one machine with ISPconfig3, a separate server for 1st namesever and separate server for second nameserver. I can pick up my domain eg mysite.com via browser no problem.

I have created the subdomain tb.mysite.com from the tutorial http://docs.ispconfig.org/creating-w...es/subdomains/ added the cname entry using tutorial http://docs.ispconfig.org/dns-basics...l-dns-records/
.
However when I try to login to that subdomain via my browser it returns could not find tb.mysite.com.

Do I need to have 1st nameserver on same machine as ISPconfig?, does this matter?

If not, do I need to maually add cname entry to zone file on 1st nameserver?

Do I have to wait for the subdomain to propogate?, if not, where am I going wrong?

Could problem be that I didnt use the multi-server setup?, if so can I use 1 server for www, mail, database another for primary nameserver and another for secondary nameserver?

any help would be greatly appreciated - thanks!

Last edited by saco721; 12th November 2010 at 19:36. Reason: thought number 2
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th November 2010, 13:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

It can take up to 72 hours until DNS changes propagate.

What does
Code:
dig tb.mysite.com
show?

Do you use BIND or MyDNS? If you use BIND, cna you post the mysite.com zone file?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th November 2010, 17:20
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko,

when I dig tb.mysite.com on my primary nameserver running Fedora 11 with BIND9 I get :
Quote:

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1b1-RedHat-9.6.1-0.3.b1.fc11 <<>> tb.mysite.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 58110
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;tb.mysite.compwd. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
. 3600 IN SOA a.root-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 2010111301 1800 900 604800 86400

;; Query time: 32 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.1#53(192.168.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov 14 14:52:08 2010
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 111
The zone file for my primary nameserver above is :

Quote:
$TTL 86400
$ORIGIN mysite.com.
@ IN SOA ns0.mysite.com. admin.mysite.com. (
2004042601 ; serial
21600 ; refresh
3600 ; retry
604800 ; expire
86400 ) ; minimum

IN NS ns0.mysite.com.net.
IN NS ns1.mysite.com.net.

IN MX 10 mail.mysite.com.net.

IN A 80.174.237.220

ns0 IN A 80.174.237.218
ns1 IN A 80.174.237.219
www IN A 80.174.237.220
ftp IN A 80.174.237.220
mail IN A 80.174.237.220
when I dig tb.mysite.com my ISPConfig server which is on a separate machine to my primary namserver and running BIND9 with Ubuntu 10.4, I get :

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.7.0-P1 <<>> tb.mysite.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 3361
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;tb.mysite.com. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mysite.com. 3600 IN SOA ns0.mysite.com. admin.mysite.com. 2004042601 21600 3600 604800 86400

;; Query time: 63 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.1#53(192.168.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov 14 15:56:15 2010
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 79
The zone file, pri.mysite.com, for the above server is :
Quote:
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA ns0.mysite.com. web.mysite.com. (
2010111203 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
28800 ; refresh, seconds
7200 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
;

mysite.com. A 80.174.237.220
mysite.com. MX 10 mail.mysite.com.
mysite.com. NS ns0.mysite.com.
mysite.com. NS ns1.mysite.com.
mail A 80.174.237.220
tb CNAME mysite.com.
www A 80.174.237.220
I have tried to connect to tb.mysite.com without success and its been also 48 hours. As you can see above, the subdomain tb.mysite.com has been added to the zone file. Does this mean that it has propogated?
Thanks for your time, Saco.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2010, 14:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Why do you have two different zone files for mysite.com?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th November 2010, 15:12
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The reason I have two zone files is because I setup a primary nameserver on one machine, then installed ISPconfig with DNS on another. I know this is wrong but I just wanted to see if I could get ISPConfig running prior to reconfiguring my primary nameserver and DNS settings.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th November 2010, 13:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Well, you must create the record for tb.mysite.com on the nameserver that is authoritative for mysite.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Problems with Subdomains ZeroEnna Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 28th September 2010 13:42
Problems installing LAMP - MySQL and PHP5 JosBR Server Operation 5 19th December 2009 21:00
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1) ergti Installation/Configuration 1 16th August 2009 12:36
Management/system config/settings & /server/settings not working!! dactor Installation/Configuration 9 6th February 2008 09:11
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.