#1  
Old 2nd November 2010, 20:37
whiz_kid_uk whiz_kid_uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PDNS and POWER ADMIN

Hi Guys

I am playing around with PDNS and power admin, and I have followed the great Tuts here on how to forge. I am learning loads - Thanks !!!
However I need a little help please

How do I update PDNS and Power admin to the latest version ? I have tried aptitude update then safe-upgrade all the packages seem to be up to date.

I need to upgrade as I cannot get zone transfers working just from specified IP's which I can see is an issue but need the update to fix it ??

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd November 2010, 09:38
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

which debian/ubuntu are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd November 2010, 14:22
whiz_kid_uk whiz_kid_uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2.6.32-25-server

Hi The server is unbuntu 2.6.32-25-server

Thanks in advance

J
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd November 2010, 14:43
whiz_kid_uk whiz_kid_uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS

Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS

Sorry newbie mistake !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2010, 18:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

If apt doesn't offer updated PowerDNS packages, then you'd have to build them yourself.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd November 2010, 18:52
whiz_kid_uk whiz_kid_uk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Hi Guys

What I am trying to do is find a way round a BT / Yahoo and AOL DNS problem
Which is the following :
Some users from the above networks are unable to send email to me, they get
CNAME lookup failed temporarily. (#4.4.3) I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too long.

A bit of googleing shows loads of results but mainly this thread :
Now the answer apears to be to Stop answering queries of type ANY, but I am unable to find out exactly how to do this.

Thanks in advance and so far thank you for your help !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.