Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th June 2006, 20:07
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default Just installed Debian.. I'm not happy

Okay..

After spending about 3 hrs in the datacenter, (I've also installed 2 new HDD's), and doing a lot of tweaking from home (SSH) I just discovered that the OS is not seening both CPU's :-(

Code:
host:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 15
model           : 4
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping        : 3
cpu MHz         : 2800.240
cache size      : 16 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 5
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips        : 5583.66
With the old OS on it (Fedora RC4) it was like this:

Code:
 cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5554.17

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5603.32

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 3
siblings : 2
core id : 3
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5586.94

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 3
siblings : 2
core id : 3
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5586.94
Is it hard to get the Debian install to see both CPU's, adn can I do this through a SSH connection?

uname -a is giving me
Linux host.removed4.now 2.4.27-2-386 #1 Wed Aug 17 09:33:35 UTC 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th June 2006, 21:25
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default kernel update for Dual Xeon with HT

I think you have to do this:

Give this command to find the available SMP (multiprocessor kernels):

apt-cache search kernel-image | grep smp

Choose this linux kernel for use with dual xeon:

kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp

Linux kernel install with this command:

apt-get install kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp

This commands reads the installed linux kernel:
uname -a

Remove the not necessary current kernel:

dpkg --purge --force-remove-essential kernel-image-2.6.8-2-386
(or other current kernel according the result of command uname -a)

Reboot your system.

This will give you full support for your dual xeon system with hyperthreading as well.


---

Hans

Last edited by Hans; 17th June 2006 at 22:56.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th June 2006, 22:09
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Thank you :-)

This is what it's showing now..

Quote:
host:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5583.66

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th June 2006, 22:20
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Thumbs up Tatatata

Congratulations!

This looks good.

Good luck with your DEBIAN SMP system !

---
Hans
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th June 2006, 22:34
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans
Congratulations!

This looks good.

Good luck with your DEBIAN SMP system !

---
Hans

Thanks Hans,

Only problem is that a friend helped me with it.. He installed the kernel-image-2.4.27-3-686-smp

I just asked him why he did not use the kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp version..

He told me that he did not have any experience with upgrades from 2.4.x to 2.6.x (your info did help him)

Not sure if it's any different, and if it's worth risking upgrading the kernel again to 2.6.8

Thanks again for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th June 2006, 23:08
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default to consider ...

2.4 or 2.6 kernel...The most important is that you have full advantage of your Debian SMP system now.

I also do not have the experience with updating from 2.4 to 2.6.
At this point i can not help you.

But if you just started you with a new and empty system you can consider to start over again and install the 2.6 kernel.

You can do this with the "linux26" command after inserting the Debian CD in your drive.

Maybe not important for you but good to know is that the 2.4 kernel series do not support SATA drives.

I have also seen that you choose for a 32 bit version.
I have installed the unofficial Debian Sarge 64 bit version with the kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp.

This Dual Xeon system is up and running for months now without any problems. Very stable. So if you want to give it a try....
(I mentioned this for consideration and have a little bit more advantage of your dual XEONs)

--

Hans

Last edited by Hans; 18th June 2006 at 01:27.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th June 2006, 23:40
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans
2.4 or 2.6 kernel...The most important is that you have full advantage of your Debian SMP system now.

I also do not have the experience with updating from 2.4 to 2.6.
At this point i can not help you.

But if you just started you with a new and empty system you can consider to start over again and install the 2.6 kernel.

You can do this with the "linux26" command after inserting the Debian CD in your drive.
I see. I might go back to the data center tomorrow, and try a new clean in stall with the linux26 option.

[QUOTE=Hans]Maybe not important for you but good to know is that the 2.4 kernel series do not support SATA drives.[/b]

This is not really a problem. The system is using a 3Ware pci card running 2 SATA HDD's in RAID1 mode.. Till now no problem..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans
I have also seen that you choose for a 32 bit version.
I have installed the unofficial Debian Sarge 64 bit version with the kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp.
Yes.. I have some othe applications that will not even install on a 64 bit OS (like ColdfusionMX7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans
This Dual Xeon system is up and running now for months now without any problems. Very stable. So if you want to give it a try....
(I mentioned this for consideration and have a little bit more advantage of your dual XEONs)
If it was not for the aps that do not install on a 64 bit OS, I would for sure have used the 64 bit OS.

The system was using Fedora RC4, and it did peform okay for me (with sometimes some small hiccups caused for sure by me)

I will deside tomorrow if I will do a reinstall or keep the "now looking good" kernel-image-2.4.27-3-686-smp.

Thanks again for your help..

We need more people like you on this forum!

Last edited by edge; 17th June 2006 at 23:49.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th June 2006, 14:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

If your system has a Debian rescue system, you don't need to go to the data center, you can install a new Debian right through SSH. And of course, you need to install an SMP kernel.

Here's a nice tutorial, unfortunately it's in German, but maybe you understand the commands:
http://debiandox.barties.de/howtos/1...8/schritt1.htm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th June 2006, 16:41
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 269
Thanked 154 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If your system has a Debian rescue system, you don't need to go to the data center, you can install a new Debian right through SSH. And of course, you need to install an SMP kernel.

Here's a nice tutorial, unfortunately it's in German, but maybe you understand the commands:
http://debiandox.barties.de/howtos/1...8/schritt1.htm
Thanks again falko,

I can read German (me Dutch), but I could not even do this if it was in Dutch

How much do you charge per/hr, or session? (I need more things that need looking at by a pro.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th June 2006, 20:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
How much do you charge per/hr, or session? (I need more things that need looking at by a pro.)
Please contact us by sending an email to info [at] projektfarm [dot] de.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Debian Woody (3.0)... sending mail from my XP box? ExCIA HOWTO-Related Questions 17 27th June 2007 19:31
2.6.12 debian install problems s2angel Installation/Configuration 6 31st December 2005 14:21
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 15:42
mysql error at Stage 4 in Debian 3.1 drbista Installation/Configuration 14 11th November 2005 11:36
Perfect setup (debian sarge) Pelle Installation/Configuration 4 11th October 2005 18:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.