Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th October 2010, 02:18
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default Bug Ftp system

Ftp jumps to next user account.

Example :
User : A
site - www.AAA /var/web5/
site - www.BBB /var/web6/

disabling www.AAA, ispconfig uses the AAA ftp account with BBB path.

Missing verification of "domain" part.
Imagine if i delete the site AAA and my copy was on BBB.

This is not a bug is a trap
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th October 2010, 12:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

FTP usernames have to be unique for the whole server as the FTP protocol never verifies by domain, thats independant if you use ispconfig or not. To ensure unique usernames, every username has a prefix. Make sure that you did not remove or modified the prefix.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th October 2010, 17:37
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Did you read what i wrote ?

If you cant understand what i write i can write in other words.

Disable Vhosts have active ftp accounts for those that want to leave to other host, or simple disable the ftp account, but changing path with no "common sense", is not a normal beavior.

Last edited by ivomendonca; 27th October 2010 at 17:45.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Thats not reproducable on my systems with ispconfig 3.0.3

1) I created new website test1.tld
2) I created new website test2.tld
3) I created FTP user test1 for website test1.tld
4) I created FTP User test2 for website test2.tld
5) I disabled user test1, the path of user test2 does not change.

I guess you did some manual modifications e.g. in the FTP path or so.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:04
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yes, but disabled by traffic, thats what i wrote.

And is all the same version (stable) i dont change code in stable versions.

And you have to use the ftp account, not look for ispconfig "paths".

I dont lose time reporting bugs to others software, if i did not try 10 times.

Last edited by ivomendonca; 27th October 2010 at 18:07.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Yes, but disabled by traffic, thats what i wrote.
Read your own post and tell me where you find the word traffic here....

Quote:
Ftp jumps to next user account.

Example :
User : A
site - www.AAA /var/web5/
site - www.BBB /var/web6/

disabling www.AAA, ispconfig uses the AAA ftp account with BBB path.

Missing verification of "domain" part.
Imagine if i delete the site AAA and my copy was on BBB.

This is not a bug is a trap
By the way, the traffic quota system does not disable FTP accounts. It disables the website.


Quote:
I dont lose time reporting bugs to others software, if i did not try 10 times.
If you like to report a bug, then please do this in the bugtracker. as bugs posted in the forums does not get reviewed by the devlopers.

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org

The ispconfig genetral forum is for general questions about ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

So, up to the next test:

1) Changed the paths on both ftp users to a custom path.
2) Disabled the website and enabled it again. Result: Path of ftp users has not changed.
3) Disabled ftp user, enabled ftp user again. result: path does not change.

So the only conlusion that I can ind is that you do not use ispconfig 3.0.3 or that you have changed some code.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
ivomendonca (27th October 2010)
  #8  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:25
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

ok, ok so i did think i wrote traffic sorry.

I thinked disabled by traffic or by hand will do the same.

->So the only conlusion that I can ind is that you do not use ispconfig 3.0.3 or that you have changed some code.

Yes, you are right. again!
Thanks for the help.

Last edited by ivomendonca; 27th October 2010 at 18:40.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:37
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

The path does not change on my systems with 3.0.3 installed. You should recheck this on your server. there is exactly one situation where the path is rewritten for FTP users and thats when a website is assigned to a new client, as this means that the path of the site has been changed and in that case, ispconfig has to remap the FTP user to the new path of this website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th October 2010, 18:44
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The path does not change on my systems with 3.0.3 installed. You should recheck this on your server. there is exactly one situation where the path is rewritten for FTP users and thats when a website is assigned to a new client, as this means that the path of the site has been changed and in that case, ispconfig has to remap the FTP user to the new path of this website.
Add a client.
add 2 domains to that client
add 1 ftp user for each domain.

Open filezilla and configure the 2 accounts.

Add a file to domain1.
Disable domain 1

refresh ftp account(filezilla) of domain1, and is connected to domain2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTP users, Bug? Rapid2214 Developers' Forum 1 9th August 2010 14:10
FTP Access restrictions (bug?) Mark_NL Developers' Forum 6 23rd September 2008 20:46
VSFTPD can not close uploaded files rdmandel HOWTO-Related Questions 5 4th August 2008 16:04
FTP shared access , no anonymous tonysch Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 5th February 2008 21:51
ISPConfig takes forever to load b00gz Installation/Configuration 5 12th April 2007 22:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.