Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2010, 13:10
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Accessing Virtual Domains Locally

I have recently bought a Cisco SA540 which apparently has a major bug and I cannot view my websites using my domain locally. I can only access ISPconfigs main control panel but since the same ip applies to all the domains I can't reach other websites.

What do I need to do in order to access the websites of my ISPconfig 3 webserver using the servers DMZ ip?

Example: Instead of mydomain.com to type the IP address of the server 172.16.1.100/theWebsiteIwantToAccess so I can view them in my browser.

Is this possible?

Last edited by sheshes; 25th October 2010 at 13:13.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th October 2010, 15:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th October 2010, 01:04
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko thanks for your quick answer but still this isn't very clear.

My problem is that my webserver is set as DMZ on the router. When I try to modify my host file to point ISPconfigServerIP to mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com I still get the same result.

I can't figure out how to do it even after downloading ISPconfig manual to see what possible solutions I can utilise based on what is written.

The theory is very straight forward: To create ip-based websites, but since I run multiple domains on one server which only has 1 ip address whatever I try it redirects it my routers main config page.

Is there a way to modify apache to understand and translate the ip with some kind of port to each website I want to access locally? Like for example myserverip:8282 to go to mydomain.com and myserverip:8383 to mydomain2.com?

I hope you get what I mean and help me fix this dead end I am into.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th October 2010, 15:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Do you use local or public IP addresses in the hosts file? Because if you use local IP addresses, your router should not be involved.
If you use public IP addresses, make sure that your router is configured to forward port 80 to the ISPConfig server. If this still doesn't work, it is possible that your router doesn't support loopbacks.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix/Dovecot Virtual Domains helicoptermcbill Installation/Configuration 4 4th July 2010 23:51
Postfix 2.5 Virtual AND Local Domains and Users rumak18 Server Operation 0 28th April 2010 15:40
Virtual Users and Domains howto and the ISPConfig3 howto for Ubuntu 9.10 loubart HOWTO-Related Questions 9 2nd December 2009 15:58
Exim Gateway with mailwatch (Unable to receive emails) siul0_0 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 8th May 2009 23:00
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.