Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th October 2010, 11:58
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem after upgrading to 10.10

Hi

I followed the guide to upgrade to 10.10 and all went well. But after restart the resolution was stuck at 800 x 600 or 640 x 480. There was no option for anything else. So I ran through the hardware test thingy for the monitor and during one of the tests it suddenly showed the login screen, but at the correct resolution. So I thought all good then, but no. After I entered my logon password and pressed enter all it does is show a black screen for a sec or two then displays the logon prompt again.

I tried to run it in safe mode but has the same effect, as does user-defined. I can get a terminal screen up but what to do then?

I should mention this is the Studio version I had originally. Is that whats done it?

Anyway, is it possible to use the terminal to roll back to 10.04 or to fix the display settings using the terminal?

Hope someone can help.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th October 2010, 12:26
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just being typeing random commands into the terminal window and the issued the reboot command and when it cam back it was back to how it was originally, stuck at the 800 x 600 resolution. But at least I can access it now.

The question now is how do I go about getting it to recognise the other resolutions that are available (and were before the update)?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2010, 17:21
Sypher Sypher is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What videocard are you using? You might want to install the drivers for it.
Are they installed? Check Hardware Drivers for that.

Otherwise you'll probably be better of by installing the binary drivers from nvidia/ati.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th October 2010, 10:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Maybe you have to modify your /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Is there a backup of your old xorg.conf in /etc/X11/?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 14:15
TLS Problem admins Installation/Configuration 1 19th September 2009 10:55
ERROR- Connection dropped by imap-server Al1937 Installation/Configuration 10 4th September 2009 21:15
postfix mysql on fedora core5 igongora Installation/Configuration 7 17th April 2007 04:40
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 01:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.