Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th June 2006, 09:38
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile ISPConfig Query

Thank you all

Thanks again for your responses and i finally managed to do the Perfect Installation Tutorial perfectly ... i've installed ISPconfig on my test server now my question is how do i get it to do what everybody says it can do...basically

1. I want to create a test client and send an email to my other account... simply user1@test.com to my private account.

2. Right...i know that for my personal account i have an SMTP server and POP3 Account supplied by my current ISP.... now if i wanted to configure this test account to work on a windows platform how would i go by getting the SMTP and POP3 settings

3. For the Moment i am using a DSL line to connect to the internet and the IP address assigned to me is Dynamic so it changes from Day to Day.... now i do have access to getting the IP daily

4. What steps would i have to take to make everything work for me

5. I know that i have to get a STATIC IP from my ISP i have gone through the process of getting that to happen but it will take sometime for now i just wanna run a test to see that everything works
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th June 2006, 15:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,171 Times in 4,055 Posts
Default

- Get an domain from a dnamic DNS service like DynDNS.
- Create a website in ISPConfig for this domain with your internal IP.
- Forward the ports for smtp, pop3 and www from your router to your server.
- Create an email account in ISPConfig.
- Create an email account in your mail client like outlook with the username and password you assigned in ISPConfig. SMTP and POP§ server is your internal server IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th June 2006, 17:49
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till THanks for your response!

Is ther maybe a config file that has these settings cause i want to change them
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de): 192.169.0.100

basically i want to be able to provide a webisite address that will be used for ISPconfig instead of https://my ipadress:81
i want it to be maybe https://www.address.co.za

if there is a way can you please let me know and furthermore

does this mean that ISPConfig can temporary work of a Dynamic IP address now my question is will the Server now be published on the INternet for that one day?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th June 2006, 18:48
BriX BriX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Check these threads I'm sure they'll help you change the hostname and ip address.
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760

Also there are services like dyndns.org that will provide DNS
services to dynamically map a static host name to a changing
IP address.
The server will be accessible via internet provided the DNS record has been in circulation long enough (~24 -72hrs) and you haven't blocked access to it using a firewall. Is that what you wanted to know?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th June 2006, 02:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
basically i want to be able to provide a webisite address that will be used for ISPconfig instead of https://my ipadress:81
i want it to be maybe https://www.address.co.za
You can change that under Management -> Server -> Settings.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th June 2006, 17:54
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink A Thank You

TO all that can help

Till Thanks again for the reply and yes your info on dyndns did do the trick but now after i did the port forwarding on my router when i go to the URL mydomain.DYNDNSdomain.com it takes me to my DSL router now my question is, is it possible to change that to my ISPCONfig server that has my website and how do i go by publishing my website so that i type my URL and it is seen!

oh and another thing how do i point my windows PC's SMTP to my ISPCONFIG's SMTP.... it doesn't really work when it sends a test email it comes up with an error but on the other hand when i use my ISP service Provider's SMTP everthing works perfectly (This is on testing settings of Mail)

Last edited by zimele; 19th June 2006 at 17:56.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th June 2006, 11:08
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Please Help

HI To All

This is my current problem

1. I am able to use my email addresses that i have created using a dyndns

2. Now when i originally did the setup i made my IP address the address cause of test purposes now i want to change that

3. when from my windows Machine (which is in the same IP Range as my Ubuntu server) try to go to my URL that i have created i am routed to my router page... but on the other hand when i use a PC that is on a different range and network i am able to see the frontpage of my Website

what i want to know is how do you configure websites on ISP config to show (instead of the home page of my DSL router) and how do you change the IP address hostname to be a name
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th June 2006, 14:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
2. Now when i originally did the setup i made my IP address the address cause of test purposes now i want to change that
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
3. when from my windows Machine (which is in the same IP Range as my Ubuntu server) try to go to my URL that i have created i am routed to my router page... but on the other hand when i use a PC that is on a different range and network i am able to see the frontpage of my Website

what i want to know is how do you configure websites on ISP config to show (instead of the home page of my DSL router) and how do you change the IP address hostname to be a name
First you must forward the needed ports from your router to your ISPConfig server. And then you must have a router model that supports loopbacks into your local network, otherwise you cannot see your web sites from within your LAN (people from outside, however, can).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th June 2006, 15:01
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Lost

Falko

My Router does support Loopback/Send and Recieve

now i don't know what to do

oh and another problem i'm having is that i removed my old domain and settings and now when i had created another one when i assign a new email user i get the whole @www.domnainname.com how do i go by removing the www.so that it is just someone@test.com instead of some@www.test.com

and by tha way thanks for your help it is much appreciated

Last edited by zimele; 20th June 2006 at 15:42.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th June 2006, 17:06
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Question More Problems

<MANAGED TO FIX THIS> but i still wanted to change my IP address to my domain name!!

and another thing after changing the IP address to a name it still does not work and to add to this when i try ftp from within ISPconfig still using my Ip address to Access Ispconfig i get this error

Could not connect to localhost
Next >>

Now i tried changing the name back to the IP address and still nothing now my question is what did i do wrong and furthermore how can i fix this

An eager Linux Learner!!!!

Last edited by zimele; 20th June 2006 at 17:11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading failed, ispconfig broken and ispconfig won't upgrade again dfriis Installation/Configuration 7 14th June 2006 17:54
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20
42goISP vs. ISPConfig nveid General 1 16th January 2006 09:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.