Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th June 2006, 01:08
skdb skdb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig + Passwd (Horde module)?

Hi, just have a small enquiry, has anyone using ISPConfig had any experiance working with the Password changeing Module included in Horde?
If so, any choice of "Backends" would be greatly appriciated

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th June 2006, 15:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

I dont recommend to use two interfaces at the same time to change mailsuer apsswords. ISPConfig has a mailuser login for changing the password!

The URL is http://www.yourdomain.com:81/mailuser/

Using two different admin packages for managing your user passwords may cause data loss and corruption of ypur password file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th June 2006, 17:36
skdb skdb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Data-Curruption would only happen if a User or User + Myself updated the password at the same time.

I honestly didnt realise this fuction was included, that will teach me to wear my glasses ALL the time

But, I still need ONE system for the Users, the main functions they must have are FTP - MAIL - User admin.
Currently WebFTP does not work with my ISPConfig Installation, otherwise I would have used that with a Webmail Plugin.

Thats why I asked, so if you have any tips for Horde, please, I am all ears
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th June 2006, 17:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdb
Data-Curruption would only happen if a User or User + Myself updated the password at the same time.
That is not correct. Data corruption may happen when any user changes a password in ISPConfig while any other password is changed in horde at the same time.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th June 2006, 17:57
skdb skdb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

You have miss-understood what I wrote, I need ONE system to handle the Users and Day-to-Day life of my Site, ISP Config will (until WebFTP works) be only used by Myself, and there will be no need for me to alter other Users Passwords once they are created.
That is for the Users, not the Admin.
That is what I meant by the Curruption statement.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with ATI's graphics driver installer Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 25 16th June 2007 14:33
eaccelerator installation - can't find php5-config tom Programming/Scripts 9 15th May 2006 16:36
ISPConfig 2.2.0 - Unrecoverable error during installation danf.1979 Installation/Configuration 2 14th March 2006 09:48
Virtual Users + Domains With Postfix etc. byw HOWTO-Related Questions 6 20th February 2006 11:10
Webmin docs missing namit Server Operation 11 5th January 2006 10:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.