Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd March 2009, 09:40
mdrain18 mdrain18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Perfect Server - Fedora 10 - Page 2

Right after the installation I rebooted but the text mode set-up utility did not run. Now I did not think it was that big of a deal considering you can disable the firewall on the UI, I also checked the Network/DNS Config and it was all set properly. My real question comes after that, when you have to change /ect/hosts. I know what I have to change it to but I am having trouble changing it. I manually went to the file and tried to change it there but it says I do not have permission to change it because I am not the owner. I also tried running it through terminal as root but still same permission problem. I know I am missing something, I'm just not seeing it. I am also having the same permission problem with disabling the SELinux.

Reading over it again right now, I just wanted to mention that I did use terminal with the vi /etc/hosts but still could not change anything.

Not sure what I did wrong. Very sorry that I had to bother you with the questions, but I just could not find anything online.

Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th March 2009, 17:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Did you install a desktop on the server?

Anyway, open a terminal, then become root:
Code:
su
and then run
Code:
vi /etc/hosts
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th March 2009, 01:47
mdrain18 mdrain18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did that and it posted the file as it was but i could not change it...so i then accessed the file directly and tried changing it there but i did not have permission to do so because i did not create it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th March 2009, 14:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ls -l /etc/hosts
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
falko

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Server, postfix, gmail relay sjau Server Operation 3 14th December 2010 18:20
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
I am running Fedora 8 Perfect Server Setup... OK to upgrade to Fedora 10? jkrell HOWTO-Related Questions 3 9th December 2008 15:13
The Perfect Setup - Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) some trouble daniel80 HOWTO-Related Questions 26 1st February 2008 16:30
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.