#1  
Old 11th October 2010, 18:45
Slicer Slicer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Need clarification on DNS used.

Ok.. I know that I am just missing the obvious.. go fig.. it is a normal Monday.

Which DNS is used / Installed in the The Perfect Server - Ubuntu 10.04 [ISPConfig 3] tutorial. I am certain it is just Bind but I want to make sure that MyDNS is not what is in place.

The other thing is that I could use a little help setting up a reverse DNS zone via the ISPConfig interface. I think I just need to set up a zone with the name of xx/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa and things should work. Problem here is that if Bind is the DNS server that is being used, then no file gets created for this zone as it does with the other zone that I create such as example.com.

What am I missing?

Thank guys!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th October 2010, 18:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

The installed DNS server is BIND, see http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p4 chapter 16.

Regarding your other questions, do you get any warnings or errors in the ispconfig system log?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th October 2010, 19:22
Slicer Slicer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I tried to create the zone at first and got the message that it was an invalid name. I found a post on editing the php config to allow for the format and I created the zone. It does show up in the ISPConfig database but I never see a Bind file.

I removed the zone this morning till I could figure out was really going on.

It would be nice to have an option in the DNS section to create a reverse zone such as this. I have used WebMin in the past on my other Perfect Server install without ISPConfig installed but I was not sure that would be a wise thing to put in place now and was doing my best to learn the software.

anything that I should look for?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2010, 20:17
Slicer Slicer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I checked my old server and I find the following.

xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx_xx.rev is present under /etc/bind and this file contains the records for xxx/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa

I am not able to see the same thing on the new ISPConfig server..

I also note that the file names are different.

old server = example.com.hosts

new server = pri.example.com

I am sure the name is not really anything.

The big question is why things are not showing up..?? It has got to be something really simple that I am missing..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2010, 20:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

Which ISPConfig version do you use? Editing a php file to allow / in dns zones is not nescessary anymore in the current release.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th October 2010, 20:45
Slicer Slicer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ISPConfig 3.0.3.

I edited this file:
/usr/local/ispconfig/interface/web/dns/form/dns_ptr.tform.php

made the following change

'regex' => '/^[\w\.\-\/]{1,256}$/'

was - 'regex' => '/^[\w\.\-]{1,256}$/'

That is the only way I could get ISPconfig to accept xxx/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.in-addr.arpa as a valid zone.

DO I NEED TO HAVE THIS ZONE STILL? It is my understanding that without a reverse zone that covers the IP Address range that I control that my DNS resolution will not work properly. Given this is the way I did things before. If it is taken care of by just adding a PTR record directly in the main example.com zone then I can give that a shot but that just confuses me more unless there is some cool behind the scenes working going on here.

Keep in mind that my current production server was built using Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail (Ubuntu 9.10) and I just added Webmin to help me configure the DNS and track a few other things.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th October 2010, 20:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

The main question is if you or your isp controls the dns zone for that IP address. In most cases, the reverse zone is controlled by the ISP that assigned you the IP address and in that case you do not need a reverse zone on your dns server at all.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th October 2010, 20:57
Slicer Slicer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Well.. that is a good question. They were "supposed" to delegate control to me so I have always had a reverse zone specified on my end.

Guess I could check. But would still like to know for sure how to get things set up properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS data from Standalone servers to Primary DNS server SamTzu Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 15th November 2009 14:38
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 20:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.