#1  
Old 17th September 2010, 17:05
Nimarda Nimarda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Add seccond ipadress to server

Hi,

I just added a seccond ipadress with ispconfig to the server.

When i go to ispconfig websites, and select a website. I assign the new ipaddress to this website. And changed DNS A record for this website with the new ipaddress.

But when viewing this website, i get a message Server not found.. Even changed my local hostfile to this ipaddress.

Do i have to do anything else to get this working?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th September 2010, 20:52
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you configured the IP also in the network card configuration file of the linux distribution.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2010, 11:36
Nimarda Nimarda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Thanks for your reply!

How do i configure this? I found something like this:
/etc/network/interfaces:
Code:
auto eth0 lo
iface eth0 inet static
address 178.21.111.181
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 178.21.111.1

iface lo inet loopback
My seccond IP address wil be: 178.21.111.222
How can i add this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2010, 11:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

To add an additional IP, add lines like this at the end of the file:

Code:
auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.101
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.0.0
        broadcast 192.168.0.255
        gateway 192.168.0.1
If you want to add more IP's, the virtual interface names are eth0:0, eth0:1, eth0:2, eth0:3 etc.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th September 2010, 12:32
Nimarda Nimarda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay thats worked!!

But now i have a problem. Can i only assign one website to this ipaddress?

Because when i assign a website to this new ipaddress, and added a seccond website to this address. And when i visit this new websites, i get every time the same site.

so for example:
example1.com has new ip
example2.com has new ip

when i visit example1.com i get the website example2.com
and example2.com is example2.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th September 2010, 13:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

You can assign as many websites to a IP as you want. Just make sure that every website has the correct IP assigned in the website settings and in DNS and that you selected auto subdomain www in every website if you want to be able to access the website also with www.domain.tld and not jsut domain.tld.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th September 2010, 15:50
Nimarda Nimarda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ah okay that was my problem.. Didnt check auto www.

Thanks! and all my problems solved
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3 - CentOS 5.4 - SSL Problems!?! owainbaber Installation/Configuration 4 26th July 2011 18:12
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 23:08
apache2 won't connect to localhost or 127.0.0.1 anw Server Operation 6 19th March 2009 19:51
What can be wrong martin_rudowicz Installation/Configuration 9 11th May 2008 20:42
Administrator receive empty mail ??? Stanev General 16 7th April 2006 21:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.