Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th June 2006, 20:51
justjim justjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Captcha Images not displaying!

Hello,
I have a web site with captcha enabled and everything works when I have the site hosted through my provider.

However, when I set the site up on my Ubuntu "Perfect" system, the captcha images will not display. Does anyone have any ideas what might cause this.

Thanks in advance!

JustJim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th June 2006, 01:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

What is captcha?
Any error messages in your logs?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th June 2006, 05:49
justjim justjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Captcha Images not displaying

Falko,

Thanks for replying.
Captcha images are those garbled images that are displayed when you need to confirm an item to prove that the request is by a human instead of being auto-generated.

If you go to this page, you will see that everything works fine and the images are properly displayed. This is one of my sites that is professionally hosted.
http://www.hairremovalsource.com/tes...ners_instr.php

However, I'm running exacly the same script on my Ubuntu Perfect server, but the images will not display. Here is the link:
http://www.greatgolfswing.com/partners_instr.php

I've attached the README file for the captcha script. It mentions that the following is required:

PHP >= 4.3.0
GD >= 2.0.28
FreeType (http://www.freetype.org/)
Jpeg Support (ftp://ftp.uu.net/graphics/jpeg/)
Png Support (http://www.libpng.org/pub/png/libpng.html)

Can you assist?
Thanks in advance!

- Jim
Attached Files
File Type: txt README.txt (9.3 KB, 856 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th June 2006, 17:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Did you install the php_gd module?
Any errors in your Apache's error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th June 2006, 03:23
justjim justjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Captcha Images not displaying

I have installed php4-gd and php5-gd.

Which log would I find errors concerning this?
In /var/log/apahe2/error.log I am seeing a lot of errors saying:
[error] an unknown filter was not added: php

Any more ideas?
Thanks again!

- JustJim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th June 2006, 03:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Is the php_gd extension enabled in your php.ini?

The log is /var/log/apahe2/error.log.

Are the other packages installed on your system?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th June 2006, 03:26
justjim justjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Captcha images not displaying

I removed the ";" symbol in from of the following line of the php.ini file:
extension=php_gd2.dll

As far as I can tell, the other packages are also installed.
Any other ideas?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th June 2006, 03:22
justjim justjim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Captcha images not displaying

I was able to get this problem resolved today!

It was a path problem. The really odd thing about it was that the script that I was having problems with works perfectly on my other professionally hosted sites. The path problem only appears to take place on my Ubuntu server.

Weird Huh?

Either way, thanks for all of your help Falko! I really appreciate the time you spend answering questions!

- JustJim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th June 2006, 15:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Glad you sorted it out. Just wanted to tell you that this line
Quote:
Originally Posted by justjim
extension=php_gd2.dll
is for Windows, not Linux.
dll -> Windows
so -> Linux
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th December 2009, 07:27
qwer qwer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default captcha not appearing in other pc or localhost

Hi, can you tell me how to fix this..how to make sure the path is correct?..
because, it seems that my problm is similar to yours.



[QUOTE=justjim;30276]I was able to get this problem resolved today!

It was a path problem. The really odd thing about it was that the script that I was having problems with works perfectly on my other professionally hosted sites. The path problem only appears to take place on my Ubuntu server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sites no displaying!!! cybereatl Installation/Configuration 10 28th February 2006 00:06
Need help with sites images dirs. SkIRmiS Installation/Configuration 11 26th September 2005 16:24
images not showing deflin Installation/Configuration 3 23rd September 2005 15:06
ISPConfig Images mphayesuk General 3 11th September 2005 19:42
Send emails with inline images claudio Programming/Scripts 2 25th April 2005 12:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.