Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2010, 15:31
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help - server installation

Hi all

I am following the How to for Ubuntu 10.04 server setup.

I entered the following commands as instructed
touch /aquota.user /aquota.groupchmod 600 /aquota.*mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugmquotaon -avug

but after reboot i get the message
mount: / not mounted already, or bad optionmountall: mount / [450] terminated with status 32mountall: Filesystem could not be mounted: /

i'm guessing I shouldnt of had the / at the end of the third line?

is there any way I can recover from this without having to start the whole process from scratch?

Any help would be appreciated
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th September 2010, 16:25
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

formatting went a bit funny there. should be

touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /

quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug

After reboot i get the message
mount: / not mounted already, or bad option
mountall: mount / [450] terminated with status 32
mountall: Filesystem could not be mounted: /
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th September 2010, 13:34
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok I decided to blank the hard disk and start again. My question now is Do I have to setup the quotas to have a properly working server?

if yes, could anyone tell me what is going wrong, i.e. what is disabling the filesystem?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2010, 15:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QPRWinst View Post
My question now is Do I have to setup the quotas to have a properly working server?
No. The only thing is that you can't limit your users file system usage without quota.

Is this a physical server or a virtual machine?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2010, 16:12
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko, thanks for reply.

This is a physical server.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2010, 17:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QPRWinst View Post
This is a physical server.
Hm, the quota instructions should work then. Did you try a reboot?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th September 2010, 10:14
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Morning
I followed the guide and did everything except the quota part. I'm very pleased with the results as everything seems to be working perfectly (apart from a few minor port issues with the router). Im scared that if I try it again it will mess up the mounting of the filesystem.

I would like to have it as perfect as possible, so if I backup /etc/fstab first, how could I restore it if it all goes wrong? Or do you think I should leave alone?

And just as a quick aside is /etc/fstab where I would mount the cdrom drive permenently?

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th September 2010, 15:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QPRWinst View Post
I would like to have it as perfect as possible, so if I backup /etc/fstab first, how could I restore it if it all goes wrong? Or do you think I should leave alone?
You mean if it doesn't boot? I've never seen that happen with the instructions, but just in case: boot from a Live CD - this guide should give you the idea: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-res...d-with-knoppix
But if you don't need quota, you can leave the system as is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by QPRWinst View Post
And just as a quick aside is /etc/fstab where I would mount the cdrom drive permenently?

cheers
Yes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
QPRWinst (20th September 2010)
  #9  
Old 20th September 2010, 16:49
QPRWinst QPRWinst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi
Thanks for that. In that case then I think i'll leave it as is for now until im a bit more confident about what I'm doing.
Thanks for all your help and advice.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd September 2010, 15:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimeshten View Post
My question is now Do, I have to setup the quotas to have a properly working server ?
See post #4.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User unknown in relay recipient table Taxick Installation/Configuration 12 9th April 2013 12:31
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
FTP cannot open remote folder!?! andysm849 Server Operation 23 16th October 2008 23:34
mail delivered in mbox patfee Installation/Configuration 8 11th December 2007 13:58
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.