Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th September 2010, 21:25
crypted crypted is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 3
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default creating www2 website

How would one setup just a www2.domain.tld website?

The user does not need DNS, EMAIL, WWW, or anything like that. He just wants to mirror his website as a www2 or something like that.

I've tried to search the forum but haven't seen much on how to change that up.

I'm assuming I can just create a normal website and use "VHOST *." and it would operate normally so long as he points his DNS for www2 to that IP?
__________________
ISPC3 on Debian! It's great!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th September 2010, 23:28
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,483
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,524 Times in 4,345 Posts
Default

Click on new website, enter www2.domain.tld into the domain field and click on save.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th September 2010, 00:43
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

I presume you want the mirror reachable from the web? Don't forget to make a dns record for the mirror domain
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th September 2010, 01:08
crypted crypted is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 3
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Well being that the DNS is with the original site, I couldn't do that. However, I did pass on the proper IP to be set on his DNS server.
__________________
ISPC3 on Debian! It's great!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th September 2010, 14:28
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Crypted, I can't stop thinking about this one. Surely, if on the original dns server, dns host records were created for www2 pointing to the ip of that server then www2 and www.domain.com would both be available all the time?

Till, I presume you can point a subdomain to a different ip of the main domain?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th September 2010, 15:21
crypted crypted is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 429
Thanks: 3
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Well Apache might answer to all of those, BUT it wouldn't work that way. The reason being if his DNS only shows www2 pointing to the secondary server, the world will always look for WWW and what not on the primary server as the DNS record indicates.

So you could have *.domain.com on server 2, but only the specifically forwarded sub domain will load on server 2.
__________________
ISPC3 on Debian! It's great!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th September 2010, 19:22
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
 
Default

Yes, I think we had crossed wires on our intended goals .
I thought you wanted www on his other server and a mirror on yours as www2 both co existing and available with the likes of google learning of both sites.

Glad you got it sorted now
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
Now new User created after creating an new website tom General 1 5th October 2007 14:29
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 20th July 2007 00:46
Creating website bve32k Installation/Configuration 2 18th November 2006 16:38
Problem with the apache (I can't start ist) M.Behrens Installation/Configuration 11 31st March 2006 11:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.