Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th August 2010, 19:51
miooodek miooodek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How To get working my scenario

Hi,

I was trying to do it myself, but after reading few instructions I just can't get it work

my scenario:

actually I have no registered domain, but I'm trying to set up some non existing domain in my local area network.

1. my domain name (in lan) will be "harakiri.pl"

2. ip addres of host with mydnsconf: 192.168.13.149
3. server name: pielgrzym.harakiri.pl

4. ther's no other dns server in my lan

my current (not working) configuration of DNS Zone



and Records




Thanks in advance for your time
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th August 2010, 14:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,177
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
Default

The zone is imcomplete and misses amlot of records and in the NS-record there are also the dots missing. The esaiest way to fix this is that you delete the whole zone and then recreate it by using the dns wizard.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2010, 14:39
miooodek miooodek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I have created sth like this by wizard, and it's still not working, but now, I'm using domain "erpi.pl"

DNS Zone




Records


Last edited by miooodek; 28th August 2010 at 16:53.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th August 2010, 10:47
zenny zenny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 20
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

What can't you make work?

If you cannot access locally the domains, please follow the faq which states that you have to add the specific IP and the domain in your /etc/hosts file of the workstation that you are using.

In your case, add the following line in the /etc/hosts file of your workstation:

192.168.13.149 pielgryzym.erpi.pl

Else read this: http://www.faqforge.com/linux/contro...-a-dns-record/

Thanks to Till for elaborating this to me!! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2010, 15:06
miooodek miooodek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I want dns working locally, but not a hosts file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th August 2010, 15:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,177
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
Default

Then reconfigure your workstation so that it uses the ispconfig server as dns server. The recordsa bove are ok for a local network.

you can test the dns server locally by executing this command on the shell of the server:

dig @localhost erpi.pl

if it returns the local IP of the server that you set in the dns srecords, then it works.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th August 2010, 15:29
miooodek miooodek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have done that, my work station use dns server 192.168.13.149 (server with isp conf)


dig log:

Code:
; <<>> DiG 9.6-ESV-R1 <<>> @localhost erpi.pl
; (2 servers found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 1687
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;erpi.pl.                       IN      A

;; Query time: 73 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Aug 29 15:28:36 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 25
what's wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th August 2010, 16:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,177
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
Default

Which tutorial did you use to install the server?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th August 2010, 16:29
miooodek miooodek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The perfect server Debian lenny 5 ISPConfig 3
from here: http://www.howtoforge.org/perfect-se...nny-ispconfig2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th August 2010, 17:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,177
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
 
Default

Please post the output of the command:

netstat -tap | grep dns
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auto update svn working copy donix Installation/Configuration 0 9th June 2010 20:59
fail2ban not working linuxwannabe Installation/Configuration 1 25th January 2009 06:09
su not working KenKnight HOWTO-Related Questions 9 17th September 2008 14:36
DNS stop working MZH General 3 22nd February 2008 11:10
ftp not working pesja Installation/Configuration 3 17th July 2006 12:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.