Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th August 2010, 11:54
j.smith1981 j.smith1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Question Apache copy of a Virtual Hosts conf (all features enabled) for an example to work off

Hi there,

For some bizarre reason ISP Config 2 started making my server use loads of processing on my CPU, annoying isnt it?

But I figured that maybe having someones (all features enabled so to speak), so I can comment those out and make them when I want to use them like mod ruby etc, disabled well.

Would it be possible to see someones default config for apache using their own domain example, but without their domain name obviously, like for example, example.com or whatever?

Just wanted to get a firm idea of how to set this up myself, as I have attempted a setup but its not working with 2 virtual hosts.

Can someone reply with their config?

I would really appreciate it,
Jeremy.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th August 2010, 17:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

It is unlikely that this is caused by the apache vhost config. You can enable all features in all sites and this will not cause a higher load until you use this feature. E.g if you enabled ruby and the website contains no ruby files, then this will have no influence on performance.

So to find the real reason for your problem, check with "top" which processes consume the cpu power.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2010, 11:18
j.smith1981 j.smith1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

It doesnt show any processes that are using abnormally high values in processing.

Just I am reluctant to bother installing it again if this is going to happen a 4th time.

I did a clean install of centos 4.8, was fine until I installed ISP config 2, it then repeated using abnormally high processing.

I then reinstalled centos without ISP config and will continue to use my own admin, just wanted to see someones config of a vhosts file to work out how to change what I have.

Since I have not installed ISP config, it works perfectly.

I know it is nothing to do with vhosts just wanted to see an example that works, since what I have tried to use for a name based vhost, doesnt appear to work, even when I set ServerName and ServerAlias to www.mydomain.com, doesnt want to work for some reason.

Last edited by j.smith1981; 13th August 2010 at 11:20.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2010, 15:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Here's an example (but not with all features enabled):

Code:
<VirtualHost 1.2.3.4:80>
SuexecUserGroup web1_user1 web1
ServerName www.example.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@example.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/web1/web
ServerAlias example.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web1/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web1/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web1/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Williamsl (11th July 2014)
  #5  
Old 13th August 2010, 15:41
j.smith1981 j.smith1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Thumbs up

Ahh ok thats fine, thanks ever so much falko.

Works fine when I put the top part in:

NameVirtualHost *:80

LOL, thanks ever so much for your reply, makes it so I can learn how to set one up should a problem arise when I dont have access to ISP config, i'd rather use my own setup anyhow, have it the way I want it you know?

I really appreciate your reply,
Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache Name-Based hosts dont work. hgrimberg01 Server Operation 5 25th December 2007 05:18
Virtual Hosts located in home dirs BostonMark Server Operation 2 16th August 2007 23:23
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 00:45
Apache - Virtual hosts - ISPConfig Hans Server Operation 8 23rd April 2006 16:29
apache and virtual hosts stored in postgresql variable Server Operation 3 28th December 2005 11:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.