Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10th August 2010, 19:48
HyperAtom HyperAtom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

okay my code is now

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^http://domain.ath.cx/admin [NC]
RewriteRule ^/(.*) http://domain.ath.cx:8080/ [L,R]

still no joy, seems strange how the other redirect i used worked but this one not.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 10th August 2010, 19:54
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default short URL

Dear Till,

Please tell if the ISPCONFIG CONTROL PANEL access vide any domain created in ISPCONFIG with :8080 is ok or is there any thing wrong.

Second the example you have shown for rewrite, in which file I need to insert that code. is it "ispconfig.vhost" or do i need to insert in website options for all the websites created in ispconfig.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th August 2010, 20:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawan View Post
Dear Till,

Please tell if the ISPCONFIG CONTROL PANEL access vide any domain created in ISPCONFIG with :8080 is ok or is there any thing wrong.

Second the example you have shown for rewrite, in which file I need to insert that code. is it "ispconfig.vhost" or do i need to insert in website options for all the websites created in ispconfig.

Regards
The controlpanel should always be accessed trough the server hostname and not a client Domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th August 2010, 20:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperAtom View Post
okay my code is now

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^http://domain.ath.cx/admin [NC]
RewriteRule ^/(.*) http://domain.ath.cx:8080/ [L,R]

still no joy, seems strange how the other redirect i used worked but this one not.
Do not change the rewrite condition, I posted you a different rewriteRule and not a different condition. Rewrite conditions may not contain http://.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th August 2010, 20:35
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default short URL

I am able to access control panel from any clientdomain:8080.

I am running ispconfig 3.0.3

I have just changed the SSL engine to off.

I have set the internal ip 192.168.0.10 for the server1.example.com as well as same internal ip for other client domains.

I have set external ip for all domains in DNS records.

Now where I should look for to correct the situation. Though it is ok for me, if it doesn't create any problem or break the server.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10th August 2010, 21:51
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default short URL

Can I access the server directly at port 80.

if yes, how. can I change the same in ispconfig.vhost.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10th August 2010, 22:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Can I access the server directly at port 80.
Only if you have a dedicated controlpanel server in a multiserver enviroment that does not host any websites.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
pawan (10th August 2010)
  #18  
Old 10th August 2010, 22:51
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default short URL

I have added this in example.com's apache directive in options tab

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}^admin.example.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^/(.*)http://server1.example.com:8080/ [L,R]

but I am getting the "server not found error".

Do I need to add admin in DNS and create sub-domain admin for example.com.

I have replaced the example.com for mydomain.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10th August 2010, 22:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

1) Have you created a DNS A-Record for admin.example.com that points to the IP of the website?
2) Have you added admin.example.com as subdomain to the website example.com?
3) You missed several whitespaces in the condition and rule.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10th August 2010, 23:18
HyperAtom HyperAtom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 79
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Sorry to bother you again till but I still cant seem to get it working, this time i will post screen shots.




I want to browse to mydomain.ath.cx/admin to be redirected to mydomain:8080.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
automatic temporary URL for new sites apoana Tips/Tricks/Mods 18 24th June 2013 14:43
Apache - Drupal - Clean URL cord Server Operation 1 23rd July 2010 06:48
How to treat main URL on server.. eddie67 Installation/Configuration 2 24th June 2009 15:46
ISPConfig stuck with error: The URL is not reachable! adobe Installation/Configuration 4 18th September 2008 12:29
Change URL to Localhost hvrossum Installation/Configuration 1 16th December 2007 14:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.