Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th August 2010, 22:48
stefki stefki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default debian server with 2 lan cards to point on one domain name

hi all,

I am running Debian linux server with 2 lan interfaces , what i need to create a domain name which can point to the 2 lan cards (IPs), if eth0 failed then eth1 will continue to work.


example

myname.com -> eth0 -> eth1 ( load balanced )
tnx
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th August 2010, 04:35
matty matty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Try this, stefki.

http://www.howtoforge.com/nic-bonding-on-debian-lenny
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th August 2010, 16:52
stefki stefki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

matty: tnx for the link, but I dont understand what Ip adress i need to put in iface bond0 inet static
my interface file looks :

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

allow-hotplug eth0

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.138
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 192.168.1.1
        broadcast 192.168.1.138
		gateway 192.168.1.1


auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
		address 192.168.0.138
		netmask 255.255.255.0
		network 192.168.0.1
		broadcast 192.168.0.138
		gateway 192.168.0.1
eth0 its connected to linksysrouter (ISP 1 )
eth1 its connected to linksysrouter 2 ( ISP 2)

Do i need special switch or router to make this work?

tnx all
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2010, 01:36
matty matty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

The idea of bonding is to create one virtual nic out of two or more real nics. That means you only really need one IP address (but you can alias others if you want). Comment out your eth0 and eth1 entries, choose one of your IP addresses, and then use the example given while substituting your IP and other network particulars.

Have a read through the different modes. They tell you about switch support. If you want a mix of performance and redundancy, mode 5 is a good choice for those of us without specialised hardware. You can plug each nic into different switches if you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User unknown in relay recipient table Taxick Installation/Configuration 12 9th April 2013 13:31
Email problem 'Cannot set my user or group id.' (using ISPConfig 3 + OpenSuSE 11.2) urosm Installation/Configuration 5 19th June 2010 23:41
Can't start apache Musty Server Operation 12 9th March 2008 14:58
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 23:53
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.