Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd July 2010, 18:32
hcliff hcliff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default developing server plugins?

I'm having a nightmare developing a plugin/module. The logging just stops working completely =/

Any suggestions on developing? How did you guys do it?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd July 2010, 21:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,670
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Most likely, you have a syntax error in your php code. Developing and debugging plugins is quite easy when you follow these steps.

1) Run

crontab -e

and comment out the line for the server.sh script.

2) Run the server.sh script manually as root user, so you get also php syntax errors displayed on the shell. run:

/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th July 2010, 17:30
hcliff hcliff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

tried that, but nothing, no php errors.

i cant figure this out, i had it working a couple of days ago and it just stopped.

If I put in any $app->log in the server.php these show in the shell output, but no such luck for logs in the plugin or module
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th July 2010, 10:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,670
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Which ISPConfig version do you use? The latest trunk from SVN?

Quote:
If I put in any $app->log in the server.php these show in the shell output, but no such luck for logs in the plugin or module
Are you sure that the plugin gets loaded? Just add a "echo" statement in the plugin code, you should see the output on the shell when you run the server.sh script manually.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th July 2010, 16:54
hcliff hcliff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

im using the latest stable release, 3.0.2.2

not seeing the echo statements, however the file is symlinked correctly in plugins-enabled and modules-enabled
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th July 2010, 10:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,670
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Please comment out the line:

ini_set('error_reporting','E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE');

in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.php

and try again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st August 2010, 16:57
hcliff hcliff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Something with the lockfile screwed up, i think permissions changes related, not sure how this happened. This was stopping the server from running, I deleted the lockfile, wiped the datalog table, reset the servers updated value, and hey presto it worked.

Touch wood, i'll email you my patch for .htaccess password protection by next week

thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hcliff For This Useful Post:
till (1st August 2010)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amavis & ispconfig 3 yalex2000 Installation/Configuration 20 18th February 2010 17:02
Random Questions dclardy General 9 3rd September 2009 23:39
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 22:08
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.