#1  
Old 3rd June 2006, 23:53
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 4
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Default Dedicated IP

Is there somehow a way to get a normal "home" user a dedicated IP so that I can run a webserver from home? I never have thought of that before.

Some cable provider do provide ded. IPs for a charge but what about those that don't? Is there a way still to get a ded. IP?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th June 2006, 16:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I think you must find an ISP who gives you a static IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th June 2006, 16:45
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 4
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Default

What if the ISP does not give away static IPs? Is there a way to get them elsewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th June 2006, 18:07
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

No, you can only get IP addresses from your ISP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th June 2006, 20:42
neil6179 neil6179 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If it's just a home web server your after you could use dynamic DNS from somewhere like http://www.no-ip.com. They have a Linux client and are free if you use one of their domain names. I guess you could map your domain with CNAME to whatever they give you.

In the UK I use Zen (http://www.zen.co.uk) who give you the option of up to 8 static IP addresses at no extra charge on a standard home ADSL line. Not much help to you in Switzerland but it might be to someone out there.

Neil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th June 2006, 20:50
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 4
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Default

well, it's rather for a test setup

Wanted to direct a domain to it - which I currently don't use...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th June 2006, 21:01
neil6179 neil6179 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well that's possible, just add a CNAME entry for you current unused domain to whatever no-ip give you and then your domain would resolve to your dynamically assigned IP.

Neil
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th June 2006, 00:11
davekeogh davekeogh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Well the provider could give one one of a few things
a) give you an ip-address, with apache listening on that, but i doubt it unless its a very small isp.
b) set up a apache virtual host for your user so you can configure a certain domain name owned by you to be redirected to a page of yours.
c) just give you the normal www.ispname.com/~username/ which you can then set you a domain name to 'sub-in' a domain name of your choice to that one...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.