Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th August 2006, 13:15
mbitzl mbitzl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Simple domain forwarding

Hi,

first, thanks for you great work!

I think it would be a nice feature if the main domain of a web could be set as forwarding domain to some url. The customer should be able to change this url by himself.

Best regards,

Marcus
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th August 2006, 14:10
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,263
Thanks: 216
Thanked 649 Times in 295 Posts
Default

If i understand you well, this can be done already on the Co-Domains tab, click on the IP of the website and then specifiy another URL or folder where you can foward to. This is also available for clients.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Managed Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th August 2006, 14:32
mbitzl mbitzl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default More clear Explanation

Well, almost. This works for co-domains, but not for the main one (together with the hostname). To make my suggestion more clear: Let's say we have a web with

Host: www
Domain: example.com
then it is possible to create a co-domain with another host and let this point to some URL, for example example.com --> some url, abc.example.com --> another url, ...

What I want is simply make www.example.com forwarding to some url directly. Until now, I use the following workaround (which is ok, but not that nice):

I create a new web with forwarding.example.com and add www.example.com and example.com as co-domains with forwarding urls.

Maybe it is really not necessary to add a direct forwarding solution, but maybe others would find it also useful...

Greetings,

Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2006, 14:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,037
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,659 Times in 4,466 Posts
Default

To forward a domain (website, not co-domain) to another URL, you can put an apache redirect command in the apache directives field of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2006, 15:42
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

How would I go about forwarding a co-domain to an entirely other machine?

Example:

I have installed ISPConfig on IP 10.0.0.150. One of the hosted domains is www.mydomain.dom.

What I want to do is:
- create a co-domain backup.mydomain.dom
- have this point to a machine (not running apache etc.) at another location, with the IP address 192.168.0.1; I want to then use rsync to create the backups

I have tried this in the tab for co-domain -> forward and entered the IP address there, but it doesn't seem to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th August 2006, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Have a look at chapter 2.3.2 on http://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/m..._src.htm#4_2_3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th August 2006, 22:06
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I tried that and what happens is that I get a 404 error as the redirect ISPConfig does is to http://www.mydomain.dom/192.168.0.1/

What I really want is to fully redirect to the external IP address 192.168.0.1 as I'm under the impression that I'll need an FQDN in order to be able to set up rsync
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st August 2006, 20:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,037
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,659 Times in 4,466 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wr19026
I tried that and what happens is that I get a 404 error as the redirect ISPConfig does is to http://www.mydomain.dom/192.168.0.1/

What I really want is to fully redirect to the external IP address 192.168.0.1 as I'm under the impression that I'll need an FQDN in order to be able to set up rsync
I guess what you are looking for is not a domain redirect. If you want to pint a domain to a IP address, you must set this up in DNS and not as http redirect.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th May 2008, 15:31
Dennis Dennis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Feature rerequest ;)

I think this is a really useful feature. A frame redirect is even something ispconfig is not capable of right now.

The control panel of a big hosting company offers these options:

Type of use
- Webspace or Forwarding

Forwarding options
- Forwarding destination
- Type of forward: Frame or http
- title
- meta description (optional)
- meta keywords (optional)

For those who wonder how to set the apache redirect mentioned by till:
Code:
Redirect / http://www.anotherdomain.tld
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th May 2008, 15:13
Baggus Baggus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Maybe this will help you:
http://www.w3.org/QA/Tips/reback
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a simple question on sub-domain forwarding... I think... dimas Installation/Configuration 11 4th August 2007 12:38
Domain Change in website Jose Gosalbez Installation/Configuration 15 19th July 2006 13:38
simple question: re domain www.foobar.com.foobar.com bryxal Installation/Configuration 2 2nd June 2006 23:04
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 17:41
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 16:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.