Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th July 2010, 23:35
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installation Instructions for ISPConfig 2

In "Installation Instructions for ISPConfig 2", there is below statement:

Important: ISPConfig is meant to be installed on new Linux installations with no web sites, so if you run a server with hundreds of web sites and need a control panel that can take care of those existing web sites, then ISPConfig is not for you!

Can you recommend the best control panels that can run in a sever with hundreds of web sites, for MS windows and Open source, e.g. Linux technology?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th July 2010, 00:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I don't think you have many options in this case. Most - if not all - control panels will ignore your existing web sites and maybe break your setup.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #3  
Old 12th July 2010, 10:52
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi falko, how about the ispconfig2 control panel? can it host many websites in its own server?
  #4  
Old 13th July 2010, 19:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Yes (well, it depends on your system resources like CPU, RAM, etc.), but it can't manage existing web sites.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #5  
Old 14th July 2010, 09:14
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi falko, how to calculate the CPU and RAM for multiple websites? e.g. if host 10 websites under ispconfig server, what is the CPU and RAM required?

by the way, why "but it can't manage existing web sites."?
  #6  
Old 15th July 2010, 14:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qiubosu View Post
hi falko, how to calculate the CPU and RAM for multiple websites? e.g. if host 10 websites under ispconfig server, what is the CPU and RAM required?
You cannot calculate it as it depends on many factors (like is it a static or dynamic web site, how many visitors do you have, etc.).

Quote:
Originally Posted by qiubosu View Post
by the way, why "but it can't manage existing web sites."?
Because these web sites are not in ISPConfig's database, and therefore ISPConfig doesn't know anything about them.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #7  
Old 15th July 2010, 21:08
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi falko, can we reconfigure the ISPConfig and registrar etc. to make the existing websites in ISPConfig database?
  #8  
Old 16th July 2010, 16:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

No, that's not possible.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
  #9  
Old 16th July 2010, 21:28
qiubosu qiubosu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why? can you explain with an example? i don't understand.
  #10  
Old 17th July 2010, 14:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

It's simply not possible. Period.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mailuser interface Horfic Plugins/Modules/Addons 497 28th November 2013 10:01
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
Suggested Additions to Installation Instructions for ISPConfig 3 RC2 on Debian Lenny kerrsmith Installation/Configuration 0 1st March 2009 11:34
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51
ISPC install stops str2etboy Installation/Configuration 19 28th January 2006 07:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.