Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th June 2010, 08:26
stevebor1 stevebor1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question The Perfect Server - Replacing server1.example.com

Hello,

I have done an install and even used a VM Image, and to play it safe I used the default "server1.example.com" as I learned along.

Now that I got a working box, how do I replace all instances of "server1.example.com" on my system? - clearly it can't be done only in ISPConfig.

I am using Centos 5.5 and ISPConfig 3.0.2.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th June 2010, 16:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

I think you can run
Code:
system-config-network
and change your hostname there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2010, 20:42
stevebor1 stevebor1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have done that but still see server1.example.com in my maillog / postfix. I noticed in postfix main.cf there were two occurances of "server1.example.com"

Is there anywhere else this gets inserted or automatically updated when a service is restarted?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2010, 05:26
3rods 3rods is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I have a similar issue. I deleted the server "server1.example.com" from ISP config 3 and there seems to be no way to add another server - effectively destroying the config. Unless I'm missing something.

This feature should be improved; at the very least, letting the end user know that removing the server is going to ruin his setup (because there is no way to add it back in the web interface).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st July 2010, 15:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevebor1 View Post
I have done that but still see server1.example.com in my maillog / postfix. I noticed in postfix main.cf there were two occurances of "server1.example.com"

Is there anywhere else this gets inserted or automatically updated when a service is restarted?
Can you post your main.cf? What's in /etc/hosts, and what are the outputs of
Code:
hostname
and
Code:
hostname -f
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Server, postfix, gmail relay sjau Server Operation 3 14th December 2010 19:20
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 13:47
problem with upgrade to 2.2.34 brianetilley Installation/Configuration 14 11th November 2009 18:22
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.