Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st July 2010, 19:50
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default 1 problem at a time: Glue Record explaim me please

So for some who followed my post I definably have multiple problems. Now for over 2 weeks I don't get it to work properly.

So going to tackle Problem by problem with your help I hope.

Problem 1 Glue record:
If I look at the howtos of slund and godady and If I understand them correct I need the IP of my name server added to my rigistar.

I have done that, look at the images provided, but if I check my domain with intodns.com I still get a glue record error?? So is the adding of my IP not a glue record? Because I am very very confused by now.



__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st July 2010, 22:52
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 478
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

This is actually a lot simpler than it sounds. I've used domainschlund but most of the site is in German so it's difficult for me; but the staff are quite helpful.

However, if you understand English better, I recommend using fasthosts. Buy yourself a cheap domain name that you don't necessarilly want to use from them. Should cost under 5 a year.







Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2010, 22:53
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 478
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
 
Default




Then repeate the last step.

At the end of it, you MUST contact the domain provider and ask them to add your two name servers to the global registry.

Quote:
Hello,

Please add to the global registry:
ns1.prizepalace.co.uk
with ip address (your ns ip here) 93.97.1.4
4 hours later....

Quote:
Discussion Thread
Response (Zoe - Ops Support) 30/06/2010 04.22 PM
Dear David,

Thank you for your support enquiry.

The nameserver ns1.prizepalace.oo.uk has now been added to the global registry.

Regards

Zoe Spicer
In the quote above i refered to ns2. You need to repeat that step normally for ns1 and ns2. Fasthosts asks you create at least 2 glue records, ideally to two different ip subsets but if you only have one server on one ip it should be fine to just point both to the same ip.

You'll need add an extra record i think on your ispconfig3 server

Last edited by Toucan; 1st July 2010 at 23:06. Reason: add more info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix problems with smtp linkdeb Server Operation 13 15th March 2014 17:58
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 14:15
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
Postfix+MySQL Problem jasutton Installation/Configuration 1 15th June 2006 16:06
MX record problem, dnsreport, mail working OK danf.1979 General 4 20th December 2005 12:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.