Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th June 2010, 17:43
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Help:two isp3 servers primary and secondary dns

I have isp3 server at home.(mydns)
Now I setting up idp3 server @ work.(BIND)

How I can set them up so they function as redundant dns servers to each other?

So far I use configuration on my home server that ns1 and ns2 points to the same isp3 server to .So there is no redundancy only it appears that I have two dns servers.I set it up this way just to experiment with it.I could get away with one dns record as NS1.

But @ work i would like to have it set up properly as it should be with primary and secondary dns.

So I wonder if both location/domains can function as redundant dns servers to each other.

could you please explain How it works in nut shell and how it needs to be set up to make it work so when aether servers goes down the one standing will still function on its own but when both servers are up there is two dns servers available to resolute requests.


Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th June 2010, 17:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

See System > server services > is mirror of server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th June 2010, 20:29
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mirror of server explanation

Yes i noticed that option.

Wander what it does.
And the effect to have mirrored system vice versa.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th June 2010, 20:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Wander what it does.
It mirrors the configuration from the master to the slave server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th June 2010, 21:40
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How it mirrors it and what all is mirrorred?

does it mirror the whole ispconfig3?
does it mirror the dns only?

is the current set up on the slave get overwrited or merged?

so what exactly is mirrored and how?

Some examples of use would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th June 2010, 21:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,788
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
does it mirror the whole ispconfig3?
does it mirror the dns only?
It mirrors all configuration for all services that are on the server that is selected in the "is morror of server" field.

Quote:
is the current set up on the slave get overwrited or merged?
The slave must be a fresh installed ISPConfig 3 and may not conatain any records assigned to it in ispconfig. So you can not use a server where you created already any records on.

Quote:
Some examples of use would be appreciated.
All kind of setups that use mirroring. E.g. high availability mailservers, multiple dns servers, high availability webserver setups, load balancing for mailserver clsuters etc.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th June 2010, 21:53
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default wont aply in my case

The slave must be a fresh installed ISPConfig 3 and may not conatain any records assigned to it in ispconfig. So you can not use a server where you created already any records on.

It wont work for me as in my case i wont two established isp servers to work as slave servers to each other in the dns area.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns, dual, isp3, redundance

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using primary & Secondary Mail Servers. joelee HOWTO-Related Questions 2 27th July 2007 19:25
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 20:52
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 11:19
Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers cstone Tips/Tricks/Mods 4 19th July 2006 15:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.