#1  
Old 14th June 2010, 05:54
MattJo. MattJo. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3 Sites and Joomla

Hello All,

I own one domain at the moment and it is the domain I used for the ISPConfig 3 setup. So I created a client for it (me) and then attached this record to my e-mail, sites, and DNS for said domain.

I installed Joomla into a directory in the www root of the site mydomain.com. So I access Joomla via mydomain.com/Joomla/. Which, if my read of the install instructions is correct, is the proper manner to install this.

My question is how to redirect mydomain.com/Joomla to www.mydomain.com so that it appears as www.mydomain.com and not mydomain.com/Joomla? I have already played around with the redirect to get mysubdomain.mydomain.com to redirect to mydomain.com/Joomla, but this doesn't help much toward my goal. Do I need to install the Joomla files directly into the root folder?

[Incidentally I read what i could find on Joomla and ISPConfig and in the end I didn't edit any files. I only created the site with suEXEC/FastCGI/Own error documents as well as the ftp user and database. Aside from some weird errors when I enabled the FTP layer during install everything seems to work fine. Was there something critical that I missed that should have been enabled and will haunt me later?]

thanks to everyone for their help so far. I realize my questions are probably repetitive. I am learning Linux/ISPConfig/Joomla on my own and have no resources other than some books and the net. Despite spending alot of time searching the forums hear and elsewhere for answers I am never sure what is necessarily relevant to my situation due to lack of familiarity with so much.

thanks again,

Matt


PS I had some false starts with the Joomla install and had to delete the site and database several times and notices the user number was incrementing upward. Do I have manually delete those user files via the terminal or is this just the default behavior for numbering the users and sites?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th June 2010, 10:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

The correct way to install joomla is to install it into the "web" directory and not in "web/Joomla".

Quote:
PS I had some false starts with the Joomla install and had to delete the site and database several times and notices the user number was incrementing upward. Do I have manually delete those user files via the terminal or is this just the default behavior for numbering the users and sites?
Thats the way mysql like auto increment in mysql databases work. The ID's do not matter, they are just for internal Use of the controlpanel.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th June 2010, 19:02
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattJo. View Post
Hello All,

I installed Joomla into a directory in the www root of the site mydomain.com. So I access Joomla via mydomain.com/Joomla/. Which, if my read of the install instructions is correct, is the proper manner to install this.

My question is how to redirect mydomain.com/Joomla to www.mydomain.com so that it appears as www.mydomain.com and not mydomain.com/Joomla? I have already played around with the redirect to get mysubdomain.mydomain.com to redirect to mydomain.com/Joomla, but this doesn't help much toward my goal. Do I need to install the Joomla files directly into the root folder?
I have several Joomla site's running I Always install into the root folder.
That way I get www.mysite.com instantly.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DaRKNeSS666NL For This Useful Post:
MattJo. (19th June 2010)
  #4  
Old 17th June 2010, 17:04
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 478
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default

You should be able to just copy the joomla files from web/joomla to the parent directory of web. Then edit the the file configuration.php. You'll need to changes the absolute path to you joomla installation by removing the /joomla part.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Toucan For This Useful Post:
MattJo. (19th June 2010)
  #5  
Old 19th June 2010, 06:47
MattJo. MattJo. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks for the help

I installed Joomla to web/ and things are working great.


One question though: What account has the files for the "default" web page. The one that you see when you first install ISPConfig.

thanks,

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th June 2010, 10:32
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattJo. View Post
I installed Joomla to web/ and things are working great.


One question though: What account has the files for the "default" web page. The one that you see when you first install ISPConfig.

thanks,

Matt
You mean the welcome page? They are stored here:
Code:
/usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf/index
But I don't know jet if they are be overwritten by an update off ISPC.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th June 2010, 13:02
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 478
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Wink

Quote:
But I don't know jet if they are be overwritten by an update off ISPC.
Yes, it did over write on the last upgrade... so keep a copy handy if you're doing lots of work on the custom index.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th September 2010, 09:39
xxfog xxfog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
Yes, it did over write on the last upgrade... so keep a copy handy if you're doing lots of work on the custom index.
The easiest way would be to allow personal html-files which must have a specific filename. And only if a file withi this specific name exists it will be shown.
so no update will ever overwrite any welcome pages again..

isn`t it possible to change ispconfig that way?
__________________
greetz Steffan

Need help? Try out irc://irc.quakenet.org/ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th September 2010, 10:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

If you would have added the changed index file in the conf-custom instead of the cond folder, it would not have been overwritten by an update.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th September 2010, 11:53
xxfog xxfog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you would have added the changed index file in the conf-custom instead of the cond folder, it would not have been overwritten by an update.
Hi Till so I have to copy the files from /conf/index/ to conf-custom/index/ and than modify them and ispconfig will take theese files from that time ?
or do i have to change something else, to make ispconfig taking the files out of the custum dirs?

can you tell me why the welcome page is always the english one if i create a web? even if i set the language to german.

you can see it here right now: http://www.dm-o.com/
the user language etc was set to german and it seems like ispc does not take the "user_standard_index.hrml.de" but the "standard_index.html.en" and copies this to /web/index.html
__________________
greetz Steffan

Need help? Try out irc://irc.quakenet.org/ISPConfig

Last edited by xxfog; 9th September 2010 at 12:07.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.x - First Steps (Creating Web Sites, Email Addresses, Etc.) sighkick Suggest HOWTO 18 7th October 2010 00:12
ispconfig 2 - joomla site onastvar General 2 15th June 2009 15:57
Problem with ISPconfig / joomla tremor General 4 31st May 2009 23:35
What Ispconfig skill sets should I learn. slamb General 1 1st November 2007 11:45
ISPCONFIG - JOOMLA - extensions (images) issue grazman HOWTO-Related Questions 11 9th June 2007 12:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.