Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2010, 16:46
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Need help with quota on fedora core 11

I am a Linux newbie running Fedora core 11 and having difficulties getting quota to work. Here's what I have done so far:

I do :

Code:
yum install quota
Installs quota fine.

Then I edit fstab :

Quote:
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Feb 11 10:05:18 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or vol_id(8) for more info
#
UUID=cfdb7341-115f-4238-990d-3ee95d311e45 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 1
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
Then run :

Code:
touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
The aquota.user and aquota.group files get created.

File system mounts ok.

However when I run quotacheck -avugm I get the following messages :
Quote:
quotacheck: Your kernel probably supports journaled quota but you are not using it. Consider switching to journaled quota to avoid running quotacheck after an unclean shutdown.
quotacheck: Cannot open quotafile //aquota.user: Permission denied
quotacheck: Cannot open quotafile //aquota.group: Permission denied
When I run quotaon -avug I get the following messages :

Quote:
quotaon: Cannot open quotafile //aquota.group: Permission denied
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root] to turn quotas on/off.
quotaon: Cannot open quotafile //aquota.user: Permission denied
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root] to turn quotas on/off.
Then I reboot the system.

Nothing is written to aquota.user or aquota.group. And I still get the error messages as above.

To me it seems that there may be a problem with permissions on / file system but i'm not sure what they should be.

Where am I going wrong?

Any ideas / advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd June 2010, 18:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Can you try to set up journaled quota, as described in chapter 7 on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-2-p3 ?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
saco721 (9th June 2010)
  #3  
Old 6th June 2010, 15:33
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko, I have edited my fstab to use journaled quota as you advised.

I changed fstab to :

Quote:
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Feb 11 10:05:18 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or vol_id(8) for more info
#
UUID=cfdb7341-115f-4238-990d-3ee95d311e45 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.gr oup,jqfmt=vsfv0 1 1
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_swap swap swap defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
Then I rebooted system and did :

Code:
touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
chmod 600 /aquota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
quotacheck -avugm returns :

Quote:
quotacheck: WARNING- Quotafile //aquota.user was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...

quotacheck: WARNING- Quotafile //aquota.group was probably truncated. Cannot save quota settings...

quotacheck: Scanning /dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root [/] quotacheck : lstat Cannot stat '//home/Eden/./gvfs' : Permission denied Guess you'd better run fsck first !
exiting...
quotaon -avug returns :

Quote:
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root] to turn quotas on/off.
quotaon: Cannot find quota file on / [/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root] to turn quotas on/off.
Tried rebooting and still get errors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th June 2010, 13:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Is it
Code:
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.gr oup,jqfmt=vsfv0 1 1
?
Should be
Code:
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vsfv0 1 1
(without space in aquota.group).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th June 2010, 13:49
saco721 saco721 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 60
Thanks: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi Falko,

Its definately

Code:
/dev/mapper/vg_gizmo-lv_root / ext4 defaults,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vsfv0 1 1
dont know why space appeared in group.

Last edited by saco721; 7th June 2010 at 13:55.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 british.assassin Server Operation 9 21st February 2008 17:29
Installing A LAMP System With Fedora Core 6 -Quota wont install rh-penguin HOWTO-Related Questions 3 30th January 2007 15:27
quota question on perfect install fedora core 5.0 bmayock HOWTO-Related Questions 7 6th July 2006 13:20
Regarding the Fedora Core 5 Perfect Install - Quota EricS HOWTO-Related Questions 4 30th May 2006 04:21
Quota: Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 domino Installation/Configuration 7 20th August 2005 17:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.