Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd June 2010, 06:19
MattJo. MattJo. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 40
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change the disk default for install

Hi,

Super-noob here. I am learning as i go, but I have literally jumped head first into Linux and CLI world in the last three weeks so my knowledge is very limited--my thanks for your help in advance.

I got Ubuntu 10.04 server installed with a boot disk in RAID 1 and a larger RAID 1 array for data. I have previously installed and configured ISPConfig on a single disk for practice and got e-mail, web, DNS, etc, all working. Now I would like to install it on a more robust setup with more storage. The first RAID array is 32 GB for swap and root. The larger data array I configured as /home. Perhaps I shouldn't have put /home there, but it was my best guess as to what directory would house the mail, databases, ftp files, etc.

So, did I blunder on putting /home as the data array's mount point? If so how can fix this and, more importantly, ensure that the ISPConfig databases, user files, mail, etc.,. end up on the data array and not on the smaller boot disk during install?

thanks,

Matt


PS Once installed, can I set up this as a PDC and not mess up ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd June 2010, 09:46
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Lightbulb

Hi Matt,
I'm having the same problem but haven't looked into it yet, proberly mounting the disc to the data folders for the relivent programs might work, say:

/dev/sda1/bind /etc/bind ext3 defaults 0 1

In theroy that should work but its proberly best to wait for till or falko to give it the ok
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th June 2010, 08:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

You should have used /var instead of /home.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 82815 Video Card & Ubuntu 8.10 harvey527 Kernel Questions 8 5th November 2010 14:51
amavis: (!!)WARN: all primary virus scanners failed, considering ba jariasca Installation/Configuration 13 20th April 2010 17:34
Admin Program for Virtual Users and Domains Postfix courier etc...(Ubuntu 8.04)? the1rob HOWTO-Related Questions 11 4th August 2009 04:54
Postfix not responding to telnet CarbonCopy Server Operation 6 8th May 2009 05:39
Exim MTA dazblade Server Operation 4 16th July 2007 18:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.