#1  
Old 3rd June 2010, 01:21
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default MyDNS to Bind on CentOS 5.4 x64

I'm using CentOS 5.4 64bit, i have found that there is problem with MyDNS (transfer data to seconrady DNS). I try to install MyDNS-NG but it donot support 64bit mysql-devel i think (it is error when make).

So i back to my old love - bind (i'm get used to it a little bit because i use openbsd and it is there rock solid with nice chroot).

The question is how to make it work.
First what i have found is info in the archive with ispconfig - /docs/INSTALL_CENTOS_5.4_dovecot_bind.txt.

So i made every step from that file, but i think something may be wrong there (last step do not work, because bind is searching for file, that is not made with steps, so i made file myself - named.conf.local).

After that named start to work.
Then i made changes in ispconfig control panel, in system->services->dns (i put correct path to the files there), after that i made "manual update" from here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44277.
And here are the questions now:
How to make old DNS entries from ispconfig work with new DNS server?
Will ISPConfig automatically generate correct files for named, or do i have to make them myself from null?
How can i know that ISPConfig noticed change of DNS server and start to work with it. and if there are problems connecting ISPConfig with new DNS server app, where can i find logs for that?
Thanks for any answer

Last edited by Nicram; 3rd June 2010 at 11:05.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd June 2010, 09:51
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Could you post the output of 'ls' or 'dir' from your bind directory?

Thanks

Marty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd June 2010, 10:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,351
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,174 Times in 4,056 Posts
Default

Bind has to be installed before you install ispconfig or at least the services have to be reconfigured.

Download the ispconfig tar,gz file. Run the update.php script in the install folder and select to reconfigure services.

Quote:
How to make old DNS entries from ispconfig work with new DNS server?
BIND is file based, so aold records dont get written to bind files. Only new and changed records will get written.

Quote:
How can i know that ISPConfig noticed change of DNS server and start to work with it. and if there are problems connecting ISPConfig with new DNS server app, where can i find logs for that?
See in Ispconfig > Monitor > system log

Quote:
So i made every step from that file, but i think something may be wrong there (last step do not work, because bind is searching for file, that is not made with steps, so i made file myself - named.conf.local).
This file ahs not to be created manually as it is created by ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd June 2010, 11:04
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default

Hello and thank You for anstwers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid2214 View Post
Could you post the output of 'ls' or 'dir' from your bind directory?

Thanks

Marty

Code:
# cd /var/named/
# ls -a
.  ..  chroot  data  slaves
# cd chroot/
# ls -a
.  ..  dev  etc  proc  var
# cd etc
# ls -a
.  ..  localtime  named.conf  named.conf.local  rndc.key
# cd ..
# cd var
# ls -a
.  ..  log  named  run  tmp
# cd named
# ls -a
.  ..  chroot  data  named.local  named.root  slaves
Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Bind has to be installed before you install ispconfig or at least the services have to be reconfigured.

Download the ispconfig tar,gz file. Run the update.php script in the install folder and select to reconfigure services.
Well i did that already, i did manual update with services reconfiguration, i said that

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
See in Ispconfig > Monitor > system log
Isn't that same what can i find in /var/log/messages ?
I'm asking if ISPConfig make log of it's own operations. For example when i make new DNS zone, when can i find if the file were made fine, or there was error, or when add new user, when can i find what changes ISPConfig did in the system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
This file ahs not to be created manually as it is created by ispconfig.
Then please correct /docs/INSTALL_CENTOS_5.4_dovecot_bind.txt file, because it asks to run BIND without that file, and it will not work without it, and people like me do not know if it;s good or bad, and why.

Best Regards

Update:
My system->DNS settings are:
BIND user: root
BIND Group: named (there is no user or group "bind" in the system)
BIND zonefiles directory: /var/named/chroo/var/named
BIND named.conf path: /var/named/chroo/etc/named.conf
/var/named/chroo/etc/named.conf.local

Last edited by Nicram; 3rd June 2010 at 13:42. Reason: Added some info about ispconfig settings
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd June 2010, 23:07
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default

Please anyone help
How to make named working with ispconfig on centos 5.4 x64.
Did anyone try this and get working?
Can anyone tell me steps one by one?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th June 2010, 14:26
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default

I enabled DEBUG mode, and it helped a lot.
I did have typo in the path settings.
Well i fixed it and now there is another problem.
I changed some DNS zones and ispconfig generate all files, but:
1) there was no allow transfer in named.conf.local
and i have find out that someone create dns zone, but without any data in it, so i deleted this dns zone and... named wasn;t refreshed anymore.
I enabled DEBUG mode again and what i have found was:

2010-06-04 14:22 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2010-06-04 14:22 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2010-06-04 14:22 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2010-06-04 14:22 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already an instance of server.php running. Exiting.
2010-06-04 14:21 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2010-06-04 14:21 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2010-06-04 14:21 hosting.xxx.de Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...

So what i have made was:
# rm -f /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock && /usr/bin/php -q /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.php
04.06.2010-14:18 - DEBUG - Set Lock: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock
04.06.2010-14:18 - DEBUG - Found 8 changes, starting update process.
04.06.2010-14:18 - DEBUG - Call function 'soa_delete' in plugin 'bind_plugin' raised by event 'dns_soa_delete'.
#

What to do next? I think it cannot delete SOA from file or something?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th June 2010, 15:08
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,351
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,174 Times in 4,056 Posts
Default

Quote:
What to do next? I think it cannot delete SOA from file or something?
Thats a bug which has been fixed already in SVN. Download the latest version from SVN version and copy only the file server/plugins-available/bind_plugin.inc.php to /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-available/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Nicram (4th June 2010)
  #8  
Old 4th June 2010, 16:32
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Thats a bug which has been fixed already in SVN. Download the latest version from SVN version and copy only the file server/plugins-available/bind_plugin.inc.php to /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-available/
Thanks, now it started to work, but still no allow-transfer in named.conf.local.
For example:
Code:
zone "somedomain.tld" {
        type master;
        file "/var/named/chroot/var/named/pri.somedomain.tld";
};
I think there should be
Code:
zone "somedomain.tld" {
        type master;
        file "/var/named/chroot/var/named/pri.somedomain.tld";
        allow-transfer { 123.123.123.123; };
        notify yes;

};
How can i fix this? Without that there is error like:
Jun 4 16:17:30 hosting named[12465]: client 123.123.123.123#4987: query 'somedomain.tld/SOA/IN' denied

Some TIP for any other that will read it.
Add port 953 in firewall settings of ISPConfig, without it
# /etc/init.d/named status
rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th June 2010, 20:49
Nicram Nicram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 59
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Nicram Send a message via AIM to Nicram Send a message via Yahoo to Nicram Send a message via Skype™ to Nicram
Default

The problem was another documentation mistake (file INSTALL_CENTOS_5.4_dovecot_bind.txt).

There is info what to paste into the named.conf file, and there is line:
[code[ allow-query { localhost; };[/code].
It is blocking connection between anything (like secondary dns or any dns queries from outside). After i excluded this line in config files, it started to work correctly.
Well i still think it should use notify and allow transfer options, but at least it works
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th June 2010, 21:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,351
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,174 Times in 4,056 Posts
 
Default

Notify and transfer is only implementde for mydns. It will get implemented for bind in the next ispconfig release.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 12:30
Can somebody help me getting Bind to work on Centos 5? treeman Server Operation 12 29th August 2009 08:15
Centos 5.2 + ISPConfig 3 tutorial - Problem with email tanakskool Server Operation 1 3rd June 2009 16:22
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 12:40
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.