Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th May 2010, 11:21
kamalito kamalito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reconfigure services after 3.0.2.1 update?

Hi
Is there a way to run again the 3.0.2.1 update to allow the script to reconfigure the services? I didn't specify "yes" when I've run the updater for the 3.0.2.1 version.
Regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2010, 11:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Yes, thats possible. You have to redo the update by following the manual update procedure as described here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44277
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 27th May 2010 at 11:34.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2010, 11:29
kamalito kamalito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot Till
Have a nice day
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th May 2010, 13:17
kamalito kamalito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till
After that update, the server is unable to resolv external domain names like google.com etc.
_______________________
# nslookup www.google.com
;; Got recursion not available from 127.0.0.1, trying next server
;; Got recursion not available from 213.251.188.140, trying next server
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
or
# ping www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com
_______________________
213.251.188.140 is the IP address of the second name server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th May 2010, 14:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

1) Which dns server do you use?
2) Have you configured anything in the dns configureation manually, e.g. adding a external resolver program?
3) check that all external dns servers in /etc/resolv.conf are valid and reachable.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st June 2010, 08:21
kamalito kamalito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
1) Which dns server do you use?
MyDNS

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
2) Have you configured anything in the dns configureation manually, e.g. adding a external resolver program?
Since ISPConfig 3.0.1.6, I've modified /etc/mydns.conf like this :
log = LOG_DAEMON # Facility to use for program output (LOG_*/stdout/stderr)
pidfile = /var/run/mydns.pid # Path to PID file
timeout = 120 # Number of seconds after which queries time out
multicpu = 1 # Number of CPUs installed on your system
recursive = # Location of recursive resolver
allow-axfr = yes # Should AXFR be enabled?
allow-tcp = yes # Should TCP be enabled?
allow-update = yes # Should DNS UPDATE be enabled?
ignore-minimum = no # Ignore minimum TTL for zone?
soa-table = dns_soa # Name of table containing SOA records
rr-table = dns_rr # Name of table containing RR data
soa-where = server_id = 1 # Extra WHERE clause for SOA queries
rr-where = server_id = 1 # Extra WHERE clause for RR queries
use-soa-active = yes # To fix bug 295 where active or inactive status is ignored.
use-rr-active = yes# To fix bug 295 where active or inactive status is ignored.
notify-enabled = yes
notify-source = XX.XX.XX.XX (IP address of the server)
ixfr-enabled = yes
ixfr-gc-enabled = yes
debug-axfr = 5


Now, I've removed all the extra lines in bold and set allow-update to No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
3) check that all external dns servers in /etc/resolv.conf are valid and reachable.
The second DNS is having trouble. Our ISP suggest to use OpenDNS servers during the resolution of that issue.

Is it a good idea to add the openDNS servers in /etc/resolv.conf?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st June 2010, 08:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is it a good idea to add the openDNS servers in /etc/resolv.conf?
You need at least one working DNS server in /etc/resolv.conf. Which one does not matter much, use e.g. the opendns servers or the free dns servers from google.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st June 2010, 08:25
kamalito kamalito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks Till
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vhosts...conf not synced to changes crypted General 50 24th April 2010 01:54
Problems after upgrading ISPconfig from 3.0.1.6 to 3.0.2.1 sheshes Installation/Configuration 11 22nd April 2010 11:01
The system is currently updating the configuration files. warlock General 8 21st February 2009 19:15
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 20:38
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 06:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.