#1  
Old 20th May 2010, 05:27
tristanlee85 tristanlee85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default DNS with multiple IP addresses

I have created a domain www.cfcoding.com and when creating the site, I selected * for the IP address since I have my server configured for .68 and .69 IPs that I have set from my ISP.

When creating the DNS record for www.cfcoding.com, it only gave me the option to enter in 1 up (unless I can enter in a list?). The idea is for me is if ns1.tbtech.net seem to be down, I would like it to try and resolve to ns2.tbtech.net which would be my other IP. Is that possible with the way the DNS is setup or am I thinking of a completely different piece of software/hardware to handle this?

Here is my wizard configuration of my domain:
__________________
ColdFusion Coding, Blog, and Forum
www.cfcoding.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th May 2010, 12:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

First, DNS Zones normally dont start with www. So make sure that you created a dns zone for cfcoding.com and not for www.cfcoding.com. www.cfcoding.com is a A-Record of the zone cfcoding.com and not a separate zone.

You can do round robin DNS, this means that you add more then one DNS A-Record for a given domain or subdomain pointing to different IP addresses. But round robin DNS is more a solution for load balancing and not for failover setups, as the client will get a error message if one of the IP addresses dont respond.

For a failover setup, you use software like this:

http://www.howtoforge.com/setting-up...n-debian-lenny

http://www.howtoforge.com/loadbalanc...cluster_debian

http://www.howtoforge.com/load_balan...proxy_balancer

which polls the different servers from time to time to check if they are online.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th May 2010, 14:01
tristanlee85 tristanlee85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Awesome, thanks. I did catch my error with the zoning and added 2 A-records for domain.com and 2 for www.

The thing is, I have 2 IPs but they are on the same server so if the server is down it doesn't have a way to failover. I was aiming for the round-robin idea with the IPs since I have 2 separate cable modems and if 1 modem went down, maybe the other one is up (unless my entire cable system goes down).

Thank you!
__________________
ColdFusion Coding, Blog, and Forum
www.cfcoding.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st May 2010, 04:33
tristanlee85 tristanlee85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Also, I realzed that looking at the zones in the image above, the A, MX, and NS records all have a period at the end. Should that be there or does it not matter either way?
__________________
ColdFusion Coding, Blog, and Forum
www.cfcoding.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st May 2010, 09:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

The period must be there. If you have a fully qualified domain name in dns e.g. www.yourdomain.com, it ahs to end with a dot. Of a record does not end with a dot, then its a relative domain name and the name of the zone gets appended to it.

So in a zone cfcoding.com, these two A-Records are the same:

www 123.123.123.123
www.cfcoding.com. 123.123.123.123

This naming convention is used by all major dns servers incl. BIND and mydns.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st May 2010, 14:36
tristanlee85 tristanlee85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Cool. Good to know. Thank you!
__________________
ColdFusion Coding, Blog, and Forum
www.cfcoding.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with DNS and multiple site on single IP 8com Installation/Configuration 6 10th June 2010 11:09
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.