Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st May 2010, 06:15
gleduc gleduc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: California
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Changing host name and ip address

I need to change my host machine's name and primary IP address as I move it to a new colo.

Can this be done via ISPConfig?

If not, what am I going to need to change (and how) so that ISPConfig works properly with the new hostname and address?

I'm not using ISPConfig for DNS, just web, database, and shell hosting.

Thanks,
Gene
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st May 2010, 09:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

You have to do this on the shell and not trogh ispconfig. Which Linux distribution do you use.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st May 2010, 17:22
gleduc gleduc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: California
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using CentOS 5.4 and I know how to change make the changes to the host. I don't know whether anything needs to be done to ISPConfig after I've change the host name and address. Are there any config files that need to be changed, or does it pick the changes up itself when it starts again?

Thanks,
Gene
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th May 2010, 23:49
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

It would be nice to know, which files needs to be changed if hostname an ipaddress changed.

Last edited by tom; 18th May 2010 at 17:36.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th May 2010, 17:36
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

I've changed the ipaddress in the ISPConfig panel. Are there other file which have to be changed manualy?

I suppose mydns setting for every record has to be changed through the ISPConfig panel. right?

But ist there anything else nessesary?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.