Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th May 2010, 11:29
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default DNS templates

Following on from a discussion in this thread
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45644

I am interested in improving my DNS template.

The starting point I have is this template:
Code:
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns={NS1}.
mbox={EMAIL}.
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A||{IP}|0|86400
A|*|{IP}|0|86400
A|mail|{IP}|0|86400
NS||{NS1}.|0|86400
MX||mail|10|86400
TXT||v=spf1 a mx -all|0|86400
with the following fields checked: Domain, IP Address, NS 1, Email

But I find that every time I use the wizard I'm having to retype the IP address, nameserver and Email.
If I enter hard-coded value in the ZONE section for mbox and ns, those values will be automatically entered on the DNS Zone page, but values in the Records page will not be updated.
ie
Code:
ns=ns.myhostng.co.uk
mbox=hostmaster@myhosting.co.uk
How can I enter the NS1 and IP address into the template so that the DNS records automatically show the correct values without having to type them each time?

Last edited by mike_p; 13th May 2010 at 11:32.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th May 2010, 12:19
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default okay - I know now!

After an exhaustive examination of the source code (dns-wizard.php)
I now realise that I had made a wrong assupmtion. I had presumed that the values in the DNS_RECORDS section of the template would be replaced with settings from the ZONE section. Actually the placeholders are only replaced with values from the user form (form that is shown when using the DNS Wizard)

So my template has now become:
Code:
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns=ns.myhostingdomain.com
mbox=hostmaster@myhostingdomain.com
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A||11.22.33.44|0|86400
A|*|11.22.33.44|0|86400
A|mail|11.22.33.44|0|86400
NS||ns.myhostingdomain.com|0|86400
MX||mail|10|86400
TXT||v=spf1 a mx -all|0|86400
This works well for me: I just have to choose the template, choose the client, enter the domain name and the rest is done!

One question: within the DNS_RECORDS section, what purpose does the NS record hold and is it actually neccessary

Last edited by mike_p; 13th May 2010 at 12:39.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2010, 11:31
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

but this setting still doesn't fill the first page values in form

How to make these values in user form filled always with same pre-defined record ?


IP Address
NS 1
NS 2
Email
http://mixx.org/pic/ispc3dnspic1.jpg

template is ignoring section
ns1=some.ns1.tld
n2=some.ns2.tld
mbox=hostmaster@some.tld


Also, what are these values for? waht should be in it? and should these also be in template?
Also Notify - ip address of secondary dns??
Update ACL

Last edited by radim_h; 15th May 2010 at 11:58.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2010, 11:39
mike_p mike_p is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 140
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radim_h View Post
template is ignoring section
ns1=some.ns1.tld
ns2=some.ns2.tld
mbox=hostmaster@some.tld
Are you sure?

If you have those values in your template, they won't appear on the form when you add the record, but they will appear on the record that is generated.
(unless you enter some other values on the form)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2010, 12:06
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

Yes,
if i fill just domain name and IP (i will be happy if also IP can be in templete)

then script complains about empty values
as here http://mixx.org/pic/ispc3dnspic2.jpg

i'd like to have in template everything except domain name

my template is allmost same as yours
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns=ns2.myweb.name
ns1=ns2.myweb.name
ns2=ns.otherweb.com
mbox=hostmaster@myweb.name
refresh=3600
retry=1800
expire=1814400
minimum=7200
ttl=7200
xfer=7.8.9.0
[DNS_RECORDS]
A||1.2.3.4|0|7200
A|*|1.2.3.4|0|7200
A|mail|1.2.3.4|0|7200
NS||ns2.myweb.name.|0|7200
NS||ns.otherweb.com.|0|7200
MX||mail.{DOMAIN}.|10|7200
MX||mxbackup.myweb.name.|100|7200

Last edited by radim_h; 15th May 2010 at 12:12.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th May 2010, 12:20
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

Oh, now i see
those values must be unchecked in template properties - http://mixx.org/pic/ispc3dnspic3.jpg


so remaining questions are:

- should IP address be also in template?
ideally pre-filled in the form, so user doesn't need to remember default server address
someting as http://mixx.org/pic/ispc3dnspic4.jpg


- what is correct value for these fields:
Also Notify
Update ACL
and should they be in template also ?

Last edited by radim_h; 15th May 2010 at 12:39.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th May 2010, 22:22
Niels Niels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radim_h View Post
- should IP address be also in template?
I have my ip in my template. Then I can make several templates with differnt IP so I dont need to remember each IP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th May 2010, 23:07
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

can you post example of your template, please ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th May 2010, 23:09
Niels Niels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Code:
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns=ns1.netopcom.dk.
mbox=domreg@netopcom.dk.
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A|{DOMAIN}.|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|www|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|mysql|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|mail|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|webmail|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|cp|86.58.173.15|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns1.netopcom.dk.|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns2.netopcom.dk.|0|86400
MX|{DOMAIN}.|mail.{DOMAIN}.|10|86400
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th May 2010, 11:18
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niels View Post
Code:
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns=ns1.netopcom.dk.
mbox=domreg@netopcom.dk.
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A|{DOMAIN}.|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|www|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|mysql|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|mail|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|webmail|86.58.173.15|0|86400
A|cp|86.58.173.15|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns1.netopcom.dk.|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns2.netopcom.dk.|0|86400
MX|{DOMAIN}.|mail.{DOMAIN}.|10|86400
Well, i don't see any difference,then in first step when adding zone from tepmplate you still ha to input domain name & IP adress, how you namaged anyhow to hide IP address field in first step ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.