#1  
Old 13th April 2010, 03:18
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default rsync how to

If I want to mirror my ubuntu 9.10 32bit with ispconfig2 using rsync, will my mirror server need to have ispconfig 2 installed as well?

happz
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2010, 22:53
madmac007 madmac007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yup

If you are to rsync to a second server, it is better to have the OS`s the same
as well as the ispconfig.

On the 2nd server, you can run this command ( all on one line )
I use ssh on port 2222

rsync -ave 'ssh -p 2222' root@192.168.1.1:/var/www/html /var/www/html

This will rsync from your main server at 192.168.1.1, using root as the user, and rsync from the /var/www/html, to your second server /var/www/html

Change the folders to meet your needs.

madmac
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th April 2010, 16:16
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Thanks. Now if the servers are not in the same network..

If they are not in the same network then I could just put in the public IP i assume? Also, I if I wanted all sites backed up then the path would be /var/www/ correct? and last, do I not need an account with permissions?

thanks again,

happz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th April 2010, 04:46
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Hello again. I follow this

http://howtoforge.com/mirroring_with_rsync_p2

Problem is that my users does get prompted for a password so I am not sure what went wrong. I followed this information directly. I don't want to setup the cron job if it doesn't work so can anyone help me understand why my /home/someuser is getting prompted? I did add the proper code where the info told me to put it.....

I guess I can manually run rsync but if anyone knows how i can id the problem it would be great.

happz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th April 2010, 14:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Are you still prompted for a password if you remove
Code:
command="/home/someuser/rsync/checkrsync",from="mirror.example.com",no-port-forwarding,no-X11-forwarding,no-pty
from /home/someuser/.ssh/authorized_keys?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th April 2010, 18:51
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Thanks...I am no longer prompted for a password

Thanks Falko! Have a great weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th April 2010, 18:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

This means that you used the wrong hostname in the
Code:
from="mirror.example.com"
part. Use the hostname that
Code:
dig -x ip_address
shows.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th April 2010, 21:41
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Uhhmm

I am running rsync in a little different way maybe. I have one server across town on a static IP and one @ home with a static IP. I am for sure entering the correct mirror.example.com so that is strange. Because I had removed the line before and thought that we were finish I have now added it back making very sure to put the mirror.example.com server name in the line but it goes back to asking for a password.

Can i just leave that line out? It is working. I can upload a file via FTP on srv1 and 5 minutes later, it appears on srv2.

Let me know please...thanks!
happz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th April 2010, 18:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happz View Post
Can i just leave that line out?
Yes, you can leave it out. It's just for additional security, that's all.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with rsync unsichtbare Installation/Configuration 12 23rd October 2011 18:03
rsync can't start on Debian Lenny Hans Installation/Configuration 6 30th November 2009 09:23
rsync: opendir "/var/www/web44/web" failed: Permission denied (13) adrenalinic HOWTO-Related Questions 7 4th August 2009 13:16
a backup server by RSYNC + SSH in a chrooted environment paguira Server Operation 3 23rd August 2008 16:44
Systemimager (rsync) doesn't copy all comedit HOWTO-Related Questions 11 19th January 2007 17:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.