Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th March 2010, 00:33
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
Default Name server question

If I have one machine running ispconfig3 and it is handling all services soley such as web, mail, sql, ftp,dns, ssh etc, AND my domain registrar allows it, is there any harm having my one server being both ns1 and ns2?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2010, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

The only problem is that if the server is down, you have no backup nameserver. But if the nameserver hosts only domains that are on the same server, these domains aren't accessible anyway if the server's down.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th March 2010, 16:19
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 39 Times in 33 Posts
 
Default

Ok, that at least assures me I understand the weakness in my setup. The reason I ask is in my attempt to give something back I've been writing a howto on name server setup using a uk registrar based on your guide for schlunde aimed at people who have used the perfect server guide.

In my scenario, all my eggs are in the same basket. I just didn't want to publish poor advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email doesn't work... Ventzy Installation/Configuration 1 14th February 2010 11:49
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 22:08
procmail problem - mail delivery Lobanak Installation/Configuration 4 1st March 2009 22:24
mail delivered in mbox patfee Installation/Configuration 8 11th December 2007 13:58
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.