Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th March 2010, 22:43
jwlinux jwlinux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Exclamation How to add IP Addresses for website use?

Short summary:

After configuring an IP address + site in ISPconfig, the ip address is not actually "up" on the server and thus the website is not accessible - why not?

Details follow:

----------------------------

Hello,

I'm trying to configure a new install of ISPConfig 3.0.2 This is a brand new install on Debian Lenny/5.0 I used the HowToForge "Perfect Install" instructions.

I have a number of clients who need sites that will use SSL certificates so of course each site needs its own IP address.

I have 2 separate installs on two servers - one I have tinkered with, the other is still pretty fresh.

On the first server: I logged in and went to "System" tab > "Server IP Addresses"

The "Server" drop down and "IP Address" box were empty.

I clicked the button "Add new IP address"

In the form that followed, "Server" was preset to my host system's FQDN (which is fine) - I put the address in the " IP Address" field, I think I un-checked "HTTP NameVirtualHost" because you can't use SSLs on a NBVH and then clicked save.

When I returned to the System > "Server IP Addresses" page I see in the list my server's name and next to it the first IP I added. So I added another IP to the same "server".

Now in the list I see the two ip addresses listed: my server's FQDN (host.mydomain.tld) listed in the first column and the two IPs listed in the second column.

Good so far!

So I made a reseller account and 2 client accounts.

In another browser I logged into the first client account > Site tab > "Website" > "Add new website". The first question in the form is the IP address, which has a drop-down selection menu with * and the two IPs I added. Great! I selected the first IP, entered a domain, options, auto-subdomain of www.* , Active, Save.

Went to my external DNS host, configured a new A record to point to that IP address - but the site doesn't pull up.

When I check on the host Linux OS with ifconfig and "ip addr sh" those 2 additional IPs I added in ISPconfig are not actually "up" on the server.

So what did I miss, and what am I supposed to do now? Are the IP addresses supposed to be configured in the Linux host OS system separately from ISPconfig first? Or is there something I need to do inside ISPconfig to "activate" the IP address?

Thanks!

JW
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th March 2010, 08:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Quote:
After configuring an IP address + site in ISPconfig, the ip address is not actually "up" on the server and thus the website is not accessible - why not?
Because you missed to configure it in your network card. It is not enough to add it just in ispconfig, you have to configure your network card too.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
jwlinux (23rd March 2010)
  #3  
Old 22nd March 2010, 17:28
jwlinux jwlinux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

I see. So adding an IP under "Server IP Addresses" does not actually add IPs, it just makes them available to be used inside ISPConfig. That makes sense but my initial impression was that ISPConfig would actually setup the IPs.

I think it would be very wise (especially considering the lack of ISPConfig 3x documentation) to put message of some kind right there on the IP Addresses page that says "Note: you must also add any IP addresses used to your host system before ISPConfig can use them!"

Thanks,

JW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
configure, debian lenny, ip address

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 16:54
Exim Gateway with mailwatch (Unable to receive emails) siul0_0 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 8th May 2009 23:00
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
Ubuntu-Server 6.10 As A Firewall/Gateway Vpn Server Problem steveomach3ww HOWTO-Related Questions 6 26th March 2007 13:35
Have to manually add virtual server without WWW? lipp9000 Installation/Configuration 8 21st July 2006 15:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.