#1  
Old 13th March 2010, 21:58
pineapple pineapple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default PHP and gd

Hello

I am running two Debian boxes that I built by following the Lenny HOWTO. I am using them to develop a Joomla website. Several of the Joomla components require gd which I have installed but they all complain that gd is too old and should be upgraded. When I look at the PHP info it states "gd version: 2.0 or higher" but when I run apt-show-versions php5-gd I get: "php5-gd/lenny uptodate 5.2.6.dfsg.1-1+lenny6" and when I look this version up on the Debian site it is 5.2.11.dfsg.1-2

Is PHP not using the uptodate version or reading the version incorrectly?

regards and thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th March 2010, 09:25
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

You can find here what packages versions come with what debian version:

http://www.debian.org/distrib/packages

You might want to enable backports....

And yes, debian lenny has gd2.... even etch had it and I think sarge also.
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th March 2010, 09:42
pineapple pineapple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yes, I have confirmed that I am running a much more recent version of GD2. I am wondering why PHP does not recognise it as such in the info page nor pass the information correctly on to Joomla! so that it knows that the version is more recent than "2.0 or higher"?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th March 2010, 10:37
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

do you have the according php gd2 library installed?
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th March 2010, 11:16
pineapple pineapple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I'm not sure what you mean. I didn't want to waste your time with a silly reply but I have googled "accorrding PHP GD2 library" and am none the wiser. Isn't GD2 a PHP library?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.