Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th May 2006, 18:13
Gurke666 Gurke666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xen doesn't recognize raid1 filesystem

When i boot xen, it comes the message that my raid1 is recognized and than xen tries to ?mount? my md0, but can't read the file system. I formated md0 with Ext3.
System is Debian Sarge, Xen Version 3.0.1
HDDs are SCSI, software-RAID with debian, one big partition...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th May 2006, 01:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

How did you set up your software RAID?
Here's a nice tutorial about this topic (but it's in German...): www.debiandox.de
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th May 2006, 22:38
Gurke666 Gurke666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
How did you set up your software RAID?
Here's a nice tutorial about this topic (but it's in German...): www.debiandox.de
Hey, kein Problem, bin auch Deutscher

I made a raid1 with the debian hdd config tool...



Here i made one big partition on each hdd and then i said "configure software RAID", formatted the RAID with EXT3 and installed debian. debian is booting, but not xen.
can u help me?

thx a lot, gurke666
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th May 2006, 12:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

So you use software RAID on your dom0?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th May 2006, 13:33
Gurke666 Gurke666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
So you use software RAID on your dom0?
I installed Debian on 2 new HDDs.During installation i created a raid1 and installed debian sarge 3.1 .
Then i installed xen 3.0.1 (with your how-to) and rebootet the pc. Then the xen-kernel wants to boot and brings up following error-message:

Quote:
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
ReiserFS: mdo: warning: sh-2996: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 2, size 4096)
ReiserFS: mdo: warning: sh-2996: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 16, size 4096)
EXT3-fs: unable to read superblock
EXT2-fs: unable to read superblock
isofs_fill_super:bread failed, dev=md0, iso_blknum=16, block=32
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(9,0)
Does that helps you? I have 2 SCSI-HDDs...
Is it possible, that the Xen-Kernel doesn't support Software-Raid?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th May 2006, 22:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurke666
Is it possible, that the Xen-Kernel doesn't support Software-Raid?
That depends on how you compiled your domU kernel (if you installed Xen from the sources). You can check it in the kernel's configuration file in the /boot directory.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th May 2006, 21:07
Gurke666 Gurke666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried to compile my own kernel, but i got a lot of error messages and then i "installed" xen normally. Can i only create a raid1 and boot the xen-kernel successful, when i compile my own kernel? can't i install anything else to boot xen successful?

greetings, gurke666

Last edited by Gurke666; 16th May 2006 at 10:29.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th May 2006, 17:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Check the kernel's configuration file in the /boot directory to see if the default Xen kernel supports RAID.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th May 2006, 19:03
Gurke666 Gurke666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

i solved the problem with the raid, but now i have some other question concerning installing xen from the sources. But that is too much and to difficult to write in english, is it possible to write you in german via icq or email?
That would help me a lot, it seems you have much more experiance then me.

Thx for help,

Gurke666
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th May 2006, 17:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

You can write me a PM, but if it's possible, post it here in the forum (in English).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xen + raid1 aqua HOWTO-Related Questions 10 3rd April 2006 00:08
Locked filesystem smelkomar Technical 17 25th March 2006 17:32
Quota on JFS raid1 problem- cant find filesystem Chaoticmass Server Operation 2 20th March 2006 00:03
How Edit /etc/fstab For Quota with Raid1? rdells General 1 18th March 2006 11:09
Filesystem latcarf Technical 2 7th August 2005 22:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.