Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th May 2006, 12:57
Kane Kane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Server Behind NAT

hi all ,
first, i have setup a FC5 machine to try out and learn web basics, rather than setting up some programs on my own machine. its a second machine i have.

i have set up rules from router , and it was working pretty well untill i installed ISPconfig . (i was not using Bind , to make zones and such, was using IP instead)

my second machine on LAN works pretty well with server . i have registered some zoes and clients via ispconfig. but i have problem with accessing from Net .
i have entered my router's IP as first DNS server IP , and when i try to connect by typing site address , it resolves the site's ip as the machine's IP behind NAT , like 192.168.1.25 .
i followed perfect setup guide and assigned second IP for network card , which is same of my router's IP (net side, not lan side ) . and installed ISPconfig from scratch . and used that IP to configure . i have now 2 IPs in ISPconfig , and both of them doesnt work . when i ping or traceroute dns addresses from out of that network , it still resolves the adresses with the machine's lan IP .
does anyone know why?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th May 2006, 18:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane
i have entered my router's IP as first DNS server IP
Where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane
, and when i try to connect by typing site address
Connect to what machine?

Can you describe in more detail what you did?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2006, 19:07
Herbert Herbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You have to use a proxy server to see your localhostnames and the domains your running.
I'm also behaind a NAT and use a proxy server..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2006, 09:01
Kane Kane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, ok . i was reading my own post again, and i can say its a little bit complicated

first i installed FC5 , started up and configured apache and ftp . and they worked behind NAT , thats ok .
then i installed ISPconfig , and tried to configure it. i am creating zones and such , and they work ok when i test it with my PC on the same LAN with the Server .
but when i use a different PC out of that network , it doesnt work . thats my problem. i entered the DNS server address into the machine i am trying to connect to my network , and it resolves DNS as the server's LAN IP (192.168.1.25 etc) , not as my router's IP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2006, 09:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane
i am creating zones and such , and they work ok when i test it with my PC on the same LAN with the Server .
but when i use a different PC out of that network , it doesnt work . thats my problem. i entered the DNS server address into the machine i am trying to connect to my network , and it resolves DNS as the server's LAN IP (192.168.1.25 etc) , not as my router's IP.
I hope you used your public IP address for the DNS records, not your LAN IP address? If you used your LAN IP address, it cannot work from outside your LAN.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2006, 16:12
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane
i entered the DNS server address into the machine i am trying to connect to my network , and it resolves DNS as the server's LAN IP (192.168.1.25 etc) , not as my router's IP.
Make sure you are entering your routers ip when trying to access your server from outside of your LAN, if you don't know your routers ip then you can get it by going to ipchicken.com from one of the computers inside your LAN.

Also do you have all neccessary ports forwarded from your router to your server?
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th May 2006, 13:06
Kane Kane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
Make sure you are entering your routers ip when trying to access your server from outside of your LAN,
sure . after a couple of more times reinstalling ISPconfig, now i managed to get a reply from server. it seems i made mistakes while installing, by enterin wrong information.
but now, all of domains and sites i created now get redirected into default site. no matter what i upload, they are all showing the default page, which tells me that apache is perfectly setup, but now i need to upload site into the default directory
and one more thing, when i use webftp from inside ISPconfig, and upload files , i get this error : " FTP: Failed to write Array/.htaccess "

thx for the help.

Last edited by Kane; 10th May 2006 at 13:11.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th May 2006, 14:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's in your Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th May 2006, 09:39
Kane Kane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What's in your Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file?
hmm, i cant find this file. is should be be in /etc/apache2 , right? there is no directory called apache2 under /etc ...
what should i do?

edit: wrong alert, sorry . here it is (found it under /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/ ) :

Quote:
NameVirtualHost **.***.***.**:80
<VirtualHost **.***.***.**:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: www.tryout.net:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost **.***.***.**:80>
ServerName www.tryout.net:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@tryout.net
by the way, i have added some more DNS entries, and they are not in this file, is that normal?

Last edited by Kane; 16th May 2006 at 09:47.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th May 2006, 11:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
 
Default

Is "**.***.***.**" this your internal or external IP address?
Is www.tryout.net an registered domain that points to your external IP address?

Quote:
by the way, i have added some more DNS entries, and they are not in this file, is that normal?
DNS is handled by the BIND daemon, not apache. So you wont find any BIND related configuration in your apache configuration file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.