Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th March 2010, 18:48
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default Temporary access to www directory when not implemented

What I'm trying to do move over all of my data from my ispconfig 2 server to my newly installed ispconfig 3 server.

Is there any way to view the webpages of a particular site, without actually going to that domain name? To make myself a little bit more clear, my ispconfig 3 server has the site in place, but I can't view it because the DNS records are still pointing to the old one (and I want it that way, until everything is moved over to the new server).

I tried http://servername.com/sitename.com/folder

But I get a 403 forbidden message. Is there a way that I can change the permissions temporarily while I'm installing things such as roundcube, etc? And then set it back? Or a better way of doing this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th March 2010, 18:58
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Found the solution here: http://www.howtoforge.net/forums/showthread.php?t=43372
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bswinnerton For This Useful Post:
falko (5th March 2010)
  #3  
Old 17th March 2010, 14:29
tedeu tedeu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry to say, that's not a sollution, but a workaroud ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th March 2010, 14:43
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedeu View Post
sorry to say, that's not a sollution, but a workaroud ...
What exactly are you looking for tedeu? If you were able to look at the website by IP address it could eventually be a security risk which is why it was programmed this way.

I recommend that you put it in your /etc/hosts file so that you can still pass the domain name to the virtual site on the server.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:02
tedeu tedeu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oo ... first of all, super fast answer... i give you that !

the ideea is like this:

i installed ispconfig overt my network...

i don't want it to be accessible from outside ...

we want to use the server as a intranet server ...

ftp and intranet site with all news to the office computers...

when we go to the 192.168.12.2 (the address of isp config) we see only it works ...

but i want to put there (and be able to use also the isp config interface) out intranet site, and make a couple of subdomains...

The altering of hosts files don't help us at all ...

we need a way to access a account created...

Can it be done ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:19
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedeu View Post
Oo ... first of all, super fast answer... i give you that !
That's what happens when you sit in front of your computer at work

As far as your questions goes, this is completely possible. You will need to configure your DNS server to handle the intranet website that you would like to use. For example if your site name was intranet.example.com, you would need a new A record on the DNS server that points intranet.example.com --> 192.168.12.2.

Once you have done this and your DNS is updated (Start > Run > cmd > ipconfig /flushdns, on a PC) you will be able to browse to intranet.example.com in your web browser and go to the site. But don't forget that you will need to create the site in ISPConfig before you can view the site. I believe the site will be example.com with a subdomain called intranet. If not, you may be able to make a new site called intranet.example.com. Give both a try and see which works.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:25
tedeu tedeu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i added a DNS zone if that's what you mean ...

Other dns i can't configure ...

the dns record is like this :
server1.ploiesti.rdsnet.ro intranet.example.com. 192.168.12.2. admin.intranet.example.com.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:36
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Hmm, well you won't actually use intranet.example.com (just to clarify).

Where are you editing the DNS? You will need to do it on whatever server that your computer is asking for DNS queries from, not just the ISPConfig server. If you don't have access to that server, create the site anyway on the ISPConfig server and edit your /etc/host to say the same name of the domain that you just created and point it to 192.168.12.2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:39
tedeu tedeu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bswinnerton View Post
Hmm, well you won't actually use intranet.example.com (just to clarify).

Where are you editing the DNS? You will need to do it on whatever server that your computer is asking for DNS queries from, not just the ISPConfig server. If you don't have access to that server, create the site anyway on the ISPConfig server and edit your /etc/host to say the same name of the domain that you just created and point it to 192.168.12.2
1. The dns server is at my Internet Service Provider

2. I just said when i replied that i can't alter the host files on my computer ...
there are oevr 200 computers ...

Isn't there any other way ?

i mean when i access ftp://192.168.12.2 with the user and pass i putted on a ftp account, it takes me where it was supposed ...
why can't this be done with the http also ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2010, 15:49
bswinnerton bswinnerton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 502
Thanks: 51
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
 
Default

You will need to edit either:

1. The DNS entries
2. The host files

You must have some sort of DNS server for the domain ploiesti.rdsnet.ro. That is the one that you need to add the A record to. Domain Name Service is what converts the hostname to the ip address, and if you don't have a way to convert the hostname to the IP address, you unforunately won't be able to access the site through a web browser.

If for some reason your ISP actually handles the DNS for your domain (which I don't think it does), you can usually contact them and request that they make a new A record on your behalf.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bswinnerton For This Useful Post:
tedeu (17th March 2010)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig install issues... flyingaggie Installation/Configuration 2 18th July 2008 10:46
Install ISPConfig On FC2 amss Installation/Configuration 5 4th March 2007 20:49
Systemimager (rsync) doesn't copy all comedit HOWTO-Related Questions 11 19th January 2007 17:17
Install Error on Debian 3.1 planet_fox Installation/Configuration 4 25th June 2006 17:03
Help dnectom Installation/Configuration 5 15th June 2006 14:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.